One Night in Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Changning
July 16th 2011
Published: February 10th 2017
Edit Blog Post

It is 2am and I can't sleep. After several hours of tossing and turning, then reading and writing, I decide sleeping is not going to come easy tonight. I need a walk. I get dressed and head downstairs. In the lobby the security guard in his chair and desk workers all put their heads up as I walk out of the stairwell. All trying to catch a few moments of sleep while they can.
I walk outside through the revolving doors and head in the direction I am facing. Our hotel sits at an odd angle not quite facing the road on our already slanted street. It has been raining off and on the past few days leaving everything damp but cooler so it is a fair tradeoff. I keep walking, ignoring the "don't walk" light flashing. There is barely any traffic at this hour which suprises me. There are a few people walking a long the road. I am sure that if I walked to the French Consession part of town I would see hundreds of people at this hour. There you would find all of the different bars frequented by the large Expat community. But here there are no bars, just endless clothing shops with a few resurants thown in every once in a while.
I keep walking past the park and the closed off Metro station enterance until I discover the only thing open at this hour, a 24 hour KFC. Inside I order myself a chicken sandwich, fries, and point until I somehow end up witth this undiscernable fruit drink that turns out to be delicious.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb