Back By Popular Demand!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong
April 12th 2010
Published: April 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I know I said I wasn't going to blog anymore.

As much as I hate to go back on my word, I've gotten like a million direct requests over the last several weeks to keep the world updated on my actions, and frankly I'm tired of sending out emails saying, "Yes, yes, I'm OK".

I am ok by the way.

And I'm going to start up this blog thingie again.

Now. I'll try not to be negative. You know, I've spent most of my life (including the time I was a child) with folks telling me I'm too negative, or that I need to "smile" or "lighten up". No matter what I do, or where on this earth I go, I seem to get this lecture! Over the last 3 years or so, this trend has really intensified. I've been told to my face that I'm a loser and a downer and that I have a bad attitude. Having people repeatedly hurl these insults to your face really makes you question yourself, and frankly makes you not really want to even be yourself.

Guys, frankly I get tired of being told what is deficient in my character. I like telling the truth of my experience, dammit all! On the other hand, as I have referenced before, I think people are our most precious resource in life. If I'm upsetting my own society with my words, maybe I should back off a little. Consequently, I'm trying to improve my behavior to acceptable levels of negativity (in short, none at all).

"If you can't say something nice, don't say nothing at all." I'll try to live by that, even if it means lying and repressing myself. I appreciate the folks who told me write whatever the hell I want. I appreciate them more than I can convey in this blog, and to the point that I inwardly tear up thinking about it. But my life right now is about self-improvement, so you get the censored version of my reality.

So.

I'm in Jining right now. You know, the city I was insulted to hear about. It doesn't seem to be that bad actually--but I've only been here a few days, so that verdict is not golden. I'm going to update you about stuff I did today, and stuff I've been doing over the last three weeks. I have the next 3 days off, and I can't go out and do a lot of things because my Mandarin is non-existent. So I'll update my online stuff. You can check back and see the Cambodia pictures I post, or you can subscribe if you want to hear my syrupy sweet stories.

It's all rainbows and pony farms from here on guys!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb