Arrived in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong
October 22nd 2005
Published: October 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I landed in Beijing on Thursday morning and took a connecting flight to Jinan. Once in Jinan I was met by two teenage chinese boys who drove me to Jinan central bus station. After running across a 14 lane highway with all my bags they put me on the bus to Binxhou. The journey took 2 1/2 hours and was pretty eventful apart from being starred and laughed at by my fellow chinese passangers i was encouraged to take part in a spot of painting, palm reading and tea drinking all while the guy sitting next to me kept shouting white white and pinching my cheaks! Was slightly afraid that nobody would be there to meet me at other end as surrounding countryside was looking very remote (thought about crying) but as soon as I got of the bus Mr Mann was there to welcome me. he took me to my appartment which is really nice and massive - got three bedroom, kitchen, tv room complete with tv computor and dvd played and one of the worst bogs I have ever seen - being in there not a pleasant experience!
First night was bit shit as couldn;t sleep and was feeling a bit lonely and sorry for myself - but hopefully all over that now!
Yesterday I had two lessons which went really well the kids are so nice and make me feel like a bit of a celeb as they follow me everywhere and are always asking for my autograph! I am teaching in a boarding school where kids are aged 6-10. The chinese are so friendly but not really sure they know the meaning of personal space as the chinese teachers who are my age or older are always holding my hand hugging me and brushing my hair and stroking my face - the always carry my bag for me and if i ever need to go up stairs they push me from behind( they obviously think i am bit fat and might not make it up on my own!!) Have got about 24 chinese girls phone numbers as they have all told me that they want to be my new friend and go shopping with me!
Last night Mr Mann took me for "dinner" with some of his friends and my chinese teacher - worst meal that I have ever had started out with fish with ginger they eat whole fish eyes head - everything! Then followed fish soup also foul but next was turtle soup - we choose the turtle! it was disgusting looked like grey testicles bobbing around in milk couldn't eat it so just spat it in my napkin! and then turtle shell soup where you bit the remaining flesh off the shell! this was all washed down by chinese wine which tastes like Bile and made me gag!
as soon as i got home i vommed and the taste is still with me after brushing my teath about 7 times! yuck
Anyway today i met up with an australian couple and an american woman who work at the college here they are all really nice and they showed me the good things to order and showed me where the western restaurant and KFC! are - might be visiting soon!
There are also 2 guys from cameroon and a guy from egypt who work in the different junior schools around town - they all seem nice bit eccentric maybe but fun. Allieen the guy from cameroon took me to the language school this afternnon where we give weekend classes He appeared in a white tracksuit timberlands and more gold jewellary that I thought it was possible to wear and drove me speeding around the town on his motorbike - the chinese were pointing and screaming, dont think they has seen anything quite like it!
Having dinner with them both this evening which should be eventful!
well just had dinner with tell who is very nice but so odd he took me to meet lots of chinese friends of his who were so nice they bought me dinner which was actually really good but del informed me that he was a christian and was going to teach me the ways of christ...oh dear but he then proceeded to ask if he could massage my legs!
Have acquired i beautiful blue bike and also 6 dvd's for a pound this place is sooooo cheap today lunch cost me 20p -
Missing you all lots stay in touch


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



22nd October 2005

Turtle testicles
aw duude, so lovely to hear your gecko trails already. I always forget how much happens in one day when your overseas. know that your probably feeling a little overwhemled right now, lonely and hormonal but stick in there, it will pass. i promise. Write in your book, reflect and enjoy... Missing you millies already. We had our first flat party last night...people didn't leave till 8am man , hectic but phenomenal...so have written off today. Will start you a letter. can you post your address here? millions of inspired love force tess xx
24th October 2005

Good lord!
Hey LP... Good to hear your chat. All sounds mighty interesting out there and eventful - turtle soup sounding particularly delicious! Look after yourself youngster. CBx

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 81; dbt: 0.1272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb