Mayo, Pillow Shams and Doughnuts


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Weihai
September 18th 2010
Published: September 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Another evening with the girls, shopping at Jusco...

First we went to Chalm and had dinner. It was OK, but there was MSG in the cole slaw they put on my sandwich.
It was probably in the mayo. How Ironic "Mai yo wei jing" means, "there' s No MSG in there," I think or something similar to it. Ha, ha, get it? Mai yo/mayo?

On the way to Jusco, I found a lovely pair of pillow cases. Actually, I think they are more like pillow shams. So soft...it's also a lovely paisley print. Creme background with a little paisley pattern in a darker beige. The linens and blankets here are usually a bright floral print. That's just not my style, 'ya know? So when I saw these shams, I jumped on it.

They had the most frustrating system for buying them though. The sales clerks didn't take my money. They kept sending me down to the next kiosk until I reached a little nook where a cashier stood. She took my money and then sent me back with a stamped receipt. Finally, the original sales clerk gave me the merchandise. It is really a hassle to pay for merchandise here sometimes. It' a similar odd set up when you want to buy Avon products at Da Fu Yuan.

Next, we went to get some sticky notes because I can never have enough sticky notes. That was on the third floor.

Then we traipsed back down to the first floor again where we raided this awesome bakery. The girls there hardly spoke any English, but they were totally cracking me up. I bought some flaky, buttery pastry that was so yummy! I'm sure it was loaded with tons of fat!

Just as a side not, my son is on a doughnut binge, so I had to stop at another bakery to buy him some more doughnuts. I'm in there almost every other day now. Those ladies must think I eat all those doughnuts! How embarrassing! Oh well, it's a little taste of home for him, so I'll make the sacrifice.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Check Out this Huge Moon Cake!Check Out this Huge Moon Cake!
Check Out this Huge Moon Cake!

This is one of the girls at the bakery that was cracking me up. After we took this picture she ran over to a new car that was parked in the mall and posed like one of those car models. How funny! She made my day.


22nd September 2010

travel
I like your article and will also pass out this message to other this blog is interesting thanks for post

Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb