The Green Bag Packers


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Jining
September 29th 2010
Published: September 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I have been busy taking care of loose ends, split ends and stuffing my green bag. Once again, let me thank the Jason at Eagle Creek for ensuring such a quality product.

My host at the Blue Sky Tengfei English Mill has been holding my hand, virtually, from Jining. She is reassuring, as are my friends who are more excited about this than I am and are more convinced of my abilities. Last minute calls to wish me luck (and to also inquire as to just where the hell, exactly, I am going).

This is what I know:

Shandong province is sorta in between Beijing and Shanghai. Besides being the birthplace of Confucius, it is the province where Tsingtao beer is brewed. However, I won't be anywhere near the coast or the brewery. Instead, I will be near a huge city that nobody Stateside has ever even heard of: Jining.

How is it possible that none of us have ever heard of a city with nearly eight million people?

No matter, as I am not going to be teaching there. I am teaching in a small town outside of Jining called Yutai.

I know nothing about it, other than what I have seen on the map. It is near a huge lake.



Advertisement



29th September 2010

China's cities
China is full of these ginormous cities that no one has ever heard of. Well, no Americans anyway. Good luck!
30th September 2010

There are a surprising numbers of cities like that in China, huge populations that no one has ever heard of until you go there. I feel like they are our equivalent of mid-size Midwestern cities ie St. Louis, Indy, Mpls, etc.
30th September 2010

Good Eagle Creek crap
I used to be a Product Mgr at EC....so are you thanking me? he he.... Your adventure sounds awesome. You'll come back with a lifetime of stories to tell....in Mandarin..... Keep in touch while you're gone. I promise to write. I will be in Shanghai in Feb. Maybe we can meet up? Will also be in HK. You'll do great....sounds like your doggie is in good hands till you return. Take the leap. I want to hear about it every step of the way. <3 Cheers, Anita
30th September 2010

"How is it possible that none of us have ever heard of a city with nearly eight million people? " in China, cities have different Level. Shanghai, Beijing, Tianjing, Chongqing are provincial Level. and Nanjing, Qingdao, Jinan and dozen others are sub-provincial level. A city like Jinin is Prefecture-level city, The prefecture-level city of Jining administers 12 county-level divisions, including 2 district, 3 county-level cities and 7 counties, and Yutai is one of the counties. So, most of the 8 millions plus people in Jinin, live in countryside, not the city.
1st October 2010

Um....
G' Luck!
8th October 2010

Glad you made it OK....
Love Tsingtao! Too bad you will not be near the brewery~

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0168s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb