Independence Day: The Epic Blog Entry


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shandong » Jining
July 4th 2010
Published: July 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Firecracker!Firecracker!Firecracker!

The kind that shoots glitter!
The good Americans of Jining have just celebrated the most epic Independence Day EVER! It was truly a day so epic, so glorious, so momentous, that it will ring throughout the pages of history forever more.

All day in the making, two hours waiting in the local KFC, many long conversations about dodging authority figures, and a twenty minute taxi ride to the outskirts of town...resulted in seven minutes of us shooting glitter out of over-sized sticks. Now THAT is truly awesome. (We cried and went home.) Happy 4th of July!

(Note that I originally wrote this article on the 4th, but after waiting days for my friend to send the epic photo-shoot of our firecracking glory, I gave up and just added my own image. I'll put his up if I ever receive it.)

Self pity aside, I need to give a status update: I am working summer intensive classes, which basically means I will be teaching 40 hours per week (not including the amount of preparation time I spend between classes). Literally, I expect to be in the office 16 hours per day, seven days a week. For six weeks. Might not be updating the blog for awhile--not that I did to begin with.

Also, four weeks after I nearly severed the bunyun on my foot, there is STILL a scab, although it is now within the realm of a normal size and depth. What's not normal is that if you touch the area, I get a funny-bone sensation running from the wound to the tip of the toe, even though my toe is still totally numb. Ah, nerve damage how I love thee.

And, I am still debating whether or not I want to stay in China much longer. My contract expires at the end of August--and I am truly stuck between staying here in China where the pay is good and I don't have to lug all my things around, or heading south for the winter. Decisions, decisions.

We'll see where the next blog entry finds me. Till then.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb