The Muslim Quarter


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
October 5th 2012
Published: December 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I love the Muslim quarter. It's a small area in the center of Xi'an, but its nooks and crannies are filled with wonders for the senses. Colorful clothes, trinkets, signs, and food are everywhere. Aromas fill the air and tickle your nose, making your mouth water with each step down the crowded streets. And yet, there's a special calm to the area that I find relaxing and invigorating at the same time. I don't feel rushed but I feel energized. People smile and are friendly, and you just feel good and excited about the next turn of your head, not sure what delights will meet your eyes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

My favorite breadMy favorite bread
My favorite bread

This round loaf is bigger than my head.
Eat hereEat here
Eat here

Worth the hovering for a table and the wait.
Biang Biang MianBiang Biang Mian
Biang Biang Mian

A local food. Best thing I ate in Xi'an.
This is just weirdThis is just weird
This is just weird

In the bazaar by the mosque
Most hyper kid everMost hyper kid ever
Most hyper kid ever

Yet, charming and sweet. For a little terror.
My new boyfriendMy new boyfriend
My new boyfriend

My favorite photo of the trip!
Sounds fantasticSounds fantastic
Sounds fantastic

I'll take two


Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 77; dbt: 0.2557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb