Food on a Stick!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
July 29th 2012
Published: August 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

On Sunday morning we had another rare lie in which I took full advantage of! While some people went out shopping in the baking heat I lay on my bed in my lovely air conditioned room watching the Olympics. Or more accurately the chinese view of Olympics which only including sports they were involved in! However I greatly enjoyed the relaxation time!

For lunch the remaining students went with Hongbo, Ing, L and Cindy to the Muslim section of Xi'an for street food! It was brilliant, I know I say that a lot about food but this was by far the best food! Cindy bought us some plum juice that was very refreshing and then the others arrived. I bought a lamb kebab covered in herbs and spices off a 10 year old kid! Then after finishing off Jess's very spicy noodles I went back and got another lamb and a beef kebab. To wash this down I had some weird fruit juice similar to ice tea. After playing around with some scarfs in a shop, and Jess again spending vast sums of money, I tried some quails eggs on a stick and then some of Ed's squid! I have now decided food on a stick is by far the best kind of food!! We then headed back to hotel so we could get our flight.

On the way Caleb wanted to buy some headphones so me and James played with the iPads and found an amazing game called Metalstorm, where you fly a fighter jet in a dog fight! We were then tempted to get a tuk tuk but when told it would be 40rmb, only £4, for 4 of us we walked off! God we have become stingey since arriving in china! Anyway after walking on the tuk tuk driver followed us and we got him down to 15rmb so jumped in!

On arrival at airport we went through and had some rather expensive and unappetising food, and no matter how much I look I couldn't find any bloody crisps in the whole airport even though you could by chickens feet and a lamb shank, which you needed a microwave to cook!

Very hungry and moody I broke down on discovering that the flight had been delayed and had a temper tantrum my 5 year old self would have been proud of! I calmed down when we were given some food by the airlines and had a nice long chat with L about Chinese language. He had me practicing with him for the next 5.5 hrs whilst we were delayed! This really helped and I learnt at more from him than I had in lessons so far. He had me telling him the time every now and then and asking the airport staff "Hao le ma?" which means "everything ok". Very funny as I had no idea what there response was!

We also played a game called the village introduced by Jess which is similar to the killer game we had played on the coach from Dangdong. Eventually we got back to the Uni at around 3am....thoroughly knackered!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb