The Beer Fest......with scorpion!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Liaoning » Dalian
July 30th 2012
Published: August 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The Scorpian 26 secs
Sooo I kinda missed lessons today......... I wasn't the only one and I was very very tired from travelling so to me it was justified! I finally wrote my essays in the afternoon and then we headed to the international beer festival held in the central park!

It was awesome and quite quiet as we arrived at 5.30. The swedes told us of the weird food you could get there so me and James went looking! We found a stall that sold: scorpion, tarantula, grubs, snakes and lots more. We decided on a large black scorpion, very high in protein according to Bear Gryalls, and a small snake to share. They were interesting......but will stick to the normal meats on sticks! Check out the pics and video attached!

We had some more beers, which were more expensive than we were used to, at around 20rmb, but as a treat we let it go and it is still cheaper than England! Then Andy, Darius and Jasper turned up and they wanted so try some food as well. Me and Andy shared a stick of grubs, they had delicious centres but the shell wasn't nice, and a stick of small scorpions! They really packed a punch in the stinger and I reckon I was mildly poisoned as I suddenly got drunk very quickly.

Things then got a little crazy...... Me, Jess, Katy, James and Drunk Briony went and photobombed left, right and centre! We had Chinese people taking group photos of us with James pulling off some very suggestive poses! At one point had we loads of video cameras pointed at us as we stormed the front of the main stage where some musicians were performing. They loved it especially when I threw Briony around and around!

FYI: "Drunk Briony is great fun" BJ Richards 2012

A great success in the Chinese department was when a beer girl came up to me pointed at my beer and said "Wo men zou ba" meaning "we go, obviously implying that I go buy a beer off her! However even after declining I managed to get a nice picture with the lovely Tuborg girls!

We then headed off for karaoke with Hongbo and Ing. I managed to convince Hongbo to get us 80 beers and an assortment of food, using the universities money of course! It was great fun and topped off by some great duets by Hongbo and his school friend! Was another great evening and took the opportunity to ask the guy getting taxis "Hao le ma?" which again resulted in some rambling and hand gestures...maybe I should stop asking!


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb