Local special food of Xi'an


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shaanxi » Xi'an
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Xi'an's food, generally speaking, is served in large portions, is inexpensive and most of dishs have their own story.

On a downtown street, everywhere one can see signs, including "Old Sun Family's Paomo 泡馍(steamed bun soaking in mutton soup), "Old Ma Family's Mutton" and "Old Liu Family's Hulutou 葫芦头(a local snack)". At the food street, food stands one after another stretch several hundreds meters. At night, temporary food stands fully line both sides of the street. Everywhere, there is a smell of delicous snacks.

Paomo is ok for me. Hulutou, a little bit hard to swallow. Hulutou means Pork Intestines(bowel or gut whatever kind of things) boiled in soup, which smell a little stink(urine smell). Maybe for psychological factor, I have subconscious to order my stomach to reject that. Local people always discribe that how delicious . Anyway I ate up a whole bowl of HUlutou. I always show my respective to others even in my reluctance. This make me recall my days in Afica and work life with Britisher. Any kind of strage food, I can swallow quickly and say "Great".





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

A capture at  Muslim QuarterA capture at  Muslim Quarter
A capture at Muslim Quarter

Yummy! I like how the smoke goes up. Can you feel the heat and smell the food. He looks quite devoted!


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb