Remembering my Chinese family...Dawukou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Ningxia
May 11th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My Little Brother or "Di Di" (dee-dee)

About 10 or so weeks ago, when my time began in China, my fellow teachers and I were invited dinner one night. During these first few days in China I was invited out every day for a meal of some kind. These meals were great because I have met individuals who have become some of my best friends.

One of the meals, however, was quite different as I met my Little Brother, or Di-Di. My life has not been the same since that night, and it is for the better. At first when we met he was getting ready to take the TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) because he is wants to study in America. The part he was having the most difficulty with was the written essay. I offered to help him with the writing, but he has given me much more in return.

In these last few days he has been going with me to Hospital One in Yinchuan because my heart beats a little bit faster than most people. His company, while ridding the bus to and from Yinchuan, was very much appreciated. As we have become closer-and-closer as friends we are exchanging jokes and discovering that a weird sense of humor is not limited by cultural or geographical barriers.

Before going to Yinchuan this past week he assisted me in buying a coat, cap and sweater. The cap I bought from his aunt for 6 Yuan (about 70-80 cents USD), keeps my head rather warm. His assistance as a translator is also greatly appreciated, as is his input on book #2.

Other things we do involved playing chess, by the international rules. I’ve beaten him once, he is very cleaver at chess and a gracious winner. Chess is one of many things that we enjoy together along with movies and exploring Dawukou. He will normally come over with my other friends for movie night.

The more time I spend with my Di Di the more I realize that we are not that different. The biggest difference is age because he is seven years younger than me. While I am helping him with his writing he is also teaching me a little Chinese.

While I call him my Little Di Di, other people refer to him jokingly as “Mountain Goat”. He was born in a village in the mountains near by Dawukou and loves mountain climbing or "Pa Shan". He is fearless when mountain climbing and came with me to Inner Mongolia in October. When I reached my limit, as far as hiking goes, he went further. I’m sure that with his talents he will go far in life.

Having grown up in the Air Force, I know that all the friendships I’ve made here will one day be seperated by barriers of time and geography. I know that when my time is up here in about 24 weeks, it will be hard to say “good-bye”. However, I will not regret the friendships I’ve made here.

Of all of the friends that I have met in China, my Di Di is one I’ll continue to do stuff with if he succeeds in coming to America. While I have been in his country his friendship has been priceless. I hope I can return the favor when he comes to America.

Seven Weeks until Shanghai!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb