Remembering good friends...Dawukou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Ningxia
May 11th 2012
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Three month anniversary

Today marks my three month anniversary in China. I couldn’t be any happier! In the past few weeks I have been telling you about places that I have been and opportunities given to me. These experiences I will remember for the rest of my life. I will also remember the people that I have spent them with. One of them is slightly angry with me right now, but I do not mind.
<!---->


<!---->

My “Little Sister” turned 26 this past week and she is the one who is slightly angry with me. But as long as she had a happy birthday I can live with it. She has been one of my best friends since the time we met in Watertown, WI, where I had been living. She always takes a genuine interest in the people around her and is full of the energy that I am not.
<!---->

<!---->
The week before her birthday I told all of our friends about the event of her turning 26 (er-shir-leo), because I thought, “What are friends for?” At her home all of our friends came to celebrate the happy event. These people I will be writing about in the weeks to come and I am sure that you will admire them as I do.
<!---->
<!---->

My Little Sister has certainly been a blessing as I have adjusted to life in China. In the first few days of my time here in China she morally “held my hand” as I became adjusted to life in this great country. At this point you are probably thinking, “Are we a couple?” The answer is “no”; but I appreciate our friendship none-the-less! In a few weeks her boyfriend will be coming to stay at my place for a few weeks. While I am grateful for my Korean roommate I will be glad to speak English at a normal rate, even if only for a few days.
<!---->
<!---->

Recently, however, we have been spending more time together because we are tag-team teaching at Factory 905. The more time I spend with her I can see why many people like her. She is full of energy and if she has ten minutes to spare she’ll give them to you!
<!---->
<!---->

Physically my Little Sister is sugar, spice and everything nice. She is always smiling, even when days are not so great, and is the extrovert that I am not. Her laugh is also infectious, especially when it comes to my bad (but not tasteless) jokes. She is also very smart and knowledgeable when it comes to geography and science. My one semester of geography doesn’t add up to her knowledge of the same subject.
<!---->
<!---->

She also took it upon herself to teach me enough Chinese to get me started such as: “jen-dow-knee hen-gao-sheeng” (nice to meet you) and “may-gwan-chee” (no problem). My Little Sister also had made sure that I’m eating properly which makes me wonder if she’s working at all for my mother, which I also appreciate. She has also offered to find me a person to teach me Chinese, however, that has been taken care of by all my friends and students.
I am grateful for having met my Little Sister and the time we have spent together. In the weeks ahead I hope she will forgive me for telling everyone about her birthday.
The more time I spend here in this country the more friends I meet. I am sure that you will appreciate them as I have. Well, here she comes! I’ll talk to you later!

Zaijian!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb