Food, glorious food!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi
October 26th 2009
Published: October 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Egg PancakeEgg PancakeEgg Pancake

First he spreads the batter. Then he cracks an egg on top, and addds veggies and spices.
Chinese food is delicious.

No, I am not talking about the "General Tso's Chicken" prepared by Salvadorean immigrants at your local strip-mall.

I refer to the masterful culinary expertise of the local people in the Middle Country.

My favorite meal is the "egg-pancake". A young man (with a good sense of humor) places batter on a perpetually-hot circular pan. Next he expertyl cracks open an egg that be places directly on the rapidly-solidifying batter. He then adds cilantro, lettuce, green onion and a chili sauce (that has peanuts in it!). He folds this over, adds "Chinese barbeque sacuce" and a cracker. The result- something similar to the Masala Dosa found in South India, and just as delicious. Price- 2.5 yuan .

A close second is the "peanut rice-burrito". A circular portion of sticky rice is placed on a rolling device, on which is added peanuts, cucumber, a cracker, and some spices (meat and eggs are also available). This concoction is then "rolled" into a burrito-shape and heartily enjoyed. Price- 2.5 yuan .

If I'm feeling cheap, there are many deep-fryer mini-restaurants available. They offer a wide range of meats, veggies (cabbage, lecutre,
He folds it...He folds it...He folds it...

And adds more sauce and a cracker, then rolls it all up.
lotus root, potato) and tofu. You select your skewers, they are deep-fried, and spicy or sweet sauce is added. Price 0.5 apiece.

Of course, there is always the jidan chow-mein . At many restaurants, a large plate will set me back 3.5.

If I'm feeling adventurious, there is the Pizza with Chinese charactaristics. I always get the "fruit" pizza, with apples, raisins, and celery. Unfortunately, the cheese is not real. Still not a bad treat at eight yuan or a small or thirteen for a large.

When I am with a group, we often head to the "English Menu Restuarant". Its a bit pricey at 5-15 yuan per dish for most items on the menu. Still not bad at all. Excellent service and belly-filling deliciousness.

For breakfast, I usually have yogurt, peanuts, coffe, dried fruit and some sort of bread product. Once I week I go shopping for these items, and I usually spend about 20 yuan .

I may get slightly fat after eight more months here.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

ResultResult
Result

Diagnosis? Delicious.
Peanut Rice-BurritoPeanut Rice-Burrito
Peanut Rice-Burrito

Prepare the ingredients....
Step TwoStep Two
Step Two

And roll it all up.
English MenuEnglish Menu
English Menu

Egg/Tomato, Rice, Mushroom/ Bok Choy, Sweet and Sour Cabbage, Garlic Cucumber, and Homestyle Tofu. About 30Y of Vegetarian goodness.


26th October 2009

Stop it already, you are making me hungry. Your chinese food looks much better than the chinese food here in Clarkville. I see you are on Skype now - very cool-Im on Skype too - ever get bored - give me a call!
26th October 2009

I hope you do gain some weight you were way to skinny last time I saw you!!
3rd November 2009

burritos in China!
I too live in Jiangxi (Nanchang) and those burritos sound bad ass! The lack of teaching hours, high pay and scrumptous food..what else could one ask for? high five! and keep enjoying your adventures.

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0982s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb