One Month's Budget in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi
October 22nd 2009
Published: October 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've been keeping track of every kuai I spend. After one month in China, I have spent 2,269.2. My most expensive day was the twenty-fourth of September, in which I spent 347.4 yuan . On that day I purchased a cell phone, setting me back 299. My least expensive day has been the ninth of October- 12 kuai , all spent on street food.

I have been compiling material for a blog on the food, to be completed soon.

So, in my first month, I have spent less than half my wage. Not too shabby, but there is certainly room for improvement. It's not bad if I think of it as $332.39 (which I shouldin't) but its attrocious if I think of it as 16,042 rupees. That is alot of chai and chinabadam.

A sign of how affluent this country is becoming- I have found (and pocketed) two yuan on the sidewalk. In six months in India, I never saw a single coin resting on the street.

Advertisement



22nd October 2009

what would your apartment cost to rent?
22nd October 2009

thrift
Dear Brendan, I wish that you were Sec. of the US Treasury. love grandpal,Al.

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb