OMG!!! Christmas is next week!!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » Nanchang
December 19th 2012
Published: December 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Obviously I knew it would come eventually, but to have it only a few days away makes it so much more real. Of course I think the same thing happens to me every year so it really shouldn't be surprising. : ) I'm still doing most of the normal Christmasy things thankfully. There will be gift exchanges, parties, and of course being with friends (though sadly no family). I'm just grateful there's so many foreigners over here to make up such a good group of people.

Shopping for me isn't fun at the best of times, but shopping in China is ten times worse. Not just because of the language barrier, but also because to get to one of the better places to shop you have to travel over an hour by bus and carry you packages through mobs of people. Sadly I didn't go yesterday when I had half the day off because I'm a lazy bugger so I have to go Saturday when there's bound to be crowds of Saturday shoppers. >_< Why do I do this to myself!!!!

I'm kinda glad all the volunteer things are done for the year though. I didn't think Dec. would be such a busy month in China, but I managed to use two Saturdays to volunteer and have booked up the rest with this and that. I will look forward to getting back to it next year just because I know even though I'm busy now doesn't mean I will be next year, expecially with Camilla and Pravine gone.

School feels weird with exams right around the corner. I'm not sure how to wrap up my class, how to celebrate Christmas without getting in trouble (by balancing fun and learning, I doubt I could throw an all out party since I can't even show movies anymore), or if I should even bother with the last chapter of their book since it won't be on the test. I don't even have exact dates for when classes end since I'm not the one giving their written finals. Their oral finals will be given next week by me so at least I'll have that out of the way soon. : )

I'd also like to point out my complete bafflement again on how they handle days off by giving make up days. So since we get New Years off (internation, not Chinese), we have to make it up the weekend before. I guess it's just another one of those things I have to say "whatever" to since there's nothing i can do about it. It'll be interesting since that weekend (29th) I'll be partcipating in the teacher show with the other foreign teachers doing some singing. It should be fun, but I've never been confident in front of people (how am I teaching???) so I just hope I don't screw up mid song. >_<

Hope you all are doing well back home and I look forward to hearing about some good holiday stories stateside. : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Yummy...Yummy...
Yummy...

Cupcakes that I baked (thank you Betty Crocker!) and Camilla decorated.


24th December 2012
Pet store

Sooo cute, the brown one looks like a little teddy bear! I bet you were tempted to get one.
1st January 2013
Pet store

Puppies
True that, but you know the kitties are where my heart lies. ^_^

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb