This and that


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » Nanchang
October 26th 2012
Published: October 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The parade of umbrellasThe parade of umbrellasThe parade of umbrellas

When it rains all you can see are the different colored and patterned umbrellas outside.
Not much to report, but I did want to show off some pictures I took. On Wed, I walked to school that's down the road a bit to take some pictures. The school teaches metal working and they have these enourmous statues all over their campus. I was actually afraid to go in at first because it didn't seem like a place you could just wander around, but a took a chance and approached the gate to pop in for a bit. The gaurds were pretty confused as to why I was there, but I showed them my camera and made motions of taking pictures. They still didn't seem like they knew what I wanted, but I just wandered around within sight of them and then thanked them on the way out.

Also, on one of my shopping trips I bought a can with a picture of a fish on it. My mind says "yay tuna!" Reality says "here's a whole fish that you can have fun eating with all the bones and fins on it. But don't worry, at least we took off the head..." It actually isn't that bad, though it's a bit spicier than I'd hope it
Bears or Pigs?Bears or Pigs?Bears or Pigs?

I can't tell if they're bears or pigs, but one thing I do know is how cute they are!
to be.

School's still going well, but it figures that someone from the board would come in and sit in on my class the day I break down and watch a movie with them. We also tried to celebrate Halloween a bit early on Thursday English corner. It didn't go down exactly as planned, but we did get to frighten some students and they got some candy, so it all worked out.

Life here continues to be enjoyable and frustrating at the same time and I'm not sure I'd have it any other way. : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Eat me!Eat me!
Eat me!

These are steamed bread with filling inside. Delicious and cute, a winning combination!
Tuna... fish?Tuna... fish?
Tuna... fish?

My mind thinks tuna fish, reality says here's a fish stuck in a can.
Metal working schoolMetal working school
Metal working school

This school nearby has tons of amazing statues around its campus and even on the buildings.


29th October 2012
Bears or Pigs?

Bears
If they were pigs they would have pink noses :)
29th October 2012

Miss you!
hey Carla! It's just not the same here without you! But I am truly entertained by all your posts. Sounds like you are having an interesting time, to say the least. I love that you are trying new foods. You are way braver than I would be. Fish in a can? No thanks. What an adventure you are on! Meanwhile, we are watching the leaves fall and getting ready for Halloween with the kids. We had our campus costume party at the studio last Friday. I went as a conservative stereotype. Wait to see the pics on FB; they're funny. Can you message me your address on FB? The boys just got their school pics done, and I thought maybe you'd like to have a copy in your cute little Chinese apartment! Love you! jen
2nd November 2012

Address....
Ok, this is as close as I could get to a school address from our school's foreign teacher aid. The phone number is so they can call someone who will let me know I have a package/card. No. 1 Dingxiang Road Changbei Economic and Technological Development Zone Nanchang, Jiangxi, China Jiangxi Tourism and Commerce Vocational College Rita: 1-397-914-3806 Carla Velte
20th September 2017

Hey!
I'm teaching at the same school now! How did you like it?
21st September 2017

Hey to you too. : )
I liked it. It was really far from the city, so that was a pain. But the students were friendly, the native teachers were accepting, and then other English teachers (at that time) made me feel very welcoming and included me in a lot of things. The campus was a bit dingy, but it's not like you can't travel around and enjoy other areas. Hope you have a great teaching year!

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb