I've been here about a month.... wow


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangxi » Nanchang
October 12th 2012
Published: October 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Alley WayAlley WayAlley Way

It was dark smelly and scary, but we found some really cool shops for people getting ready for their weddings. They had dresses, photography and makeup all along an alley I felt I could get mugged in.
So I've almost been here a total of 4 weeks come this Saturday. It certainly doesn't feel like it. When I first got here I felt like time would never go by quickly. Everthing seemed to slow down and take forever, but now that I have a routine it feels like next year will be here before I know it.

Right now I'm planning for Halloween though I don't think it'll be anything spectacular. I just want to give my students a taste of what we do and maybe show a movie during English corner the Thursday before. For Thanksgiving I'm not sure what we'll be doing. I don't think any time is given off, but I think the Cherians might celebrate and I'm sure I'll get to crash whatever they're doing. : )

So I think my schedule has stopped changing which is something I'm extrememly grateful for. It's nice to know that when I show up to my room my students will be there at the same time. I'm also feeling more confident in my teaching and getting some good advice about how to make things interesting and ways to help my students understand better.

I
So... colorful!So... colorful!So... colorful!

There were some really unique dresses that I couldn't imagine anyone wearing. They were all so very colorful.
think I would start feeling lonely about now if I didn't have half the campus clamouring for my attention. It's only because I'm American, but I'll take the conversations where I can get them. I do wish I could visit my friends at will, but hopefully I'll get my laptop working at my apartment soon so I can Skype whenever I want instead of just chatting on it via my main computer.

I hope all is well with everyone back home and I look forward to any replies given!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Chow tofuChow tofu
Chow tofu

It smelled horrible and it tasted.... different. Not good, not horrible, and definitely something I probably wouldn't eat again. It's Anna's favorite dish though and I had to try it at least once.
KFC, taking over the world with chicken!KFC, taking over the world with chicken!
KFC, taking over the world with chicken!

KFC really pushes it over here. McDonalds I barely see but in one area there were 4 KFC's within a short walk of each other.
It's a purple ice cream cone!It's a purple ice cream cone!
It's a purple ice cream cone!

Actually I don't know what it is, but it had the flavor and texture of an ice cream cone. Not very filling, but it was sweet and messy to eat.
CaligraphyCaligraphy
Caligraphy

A lot of poor or disabled people will try to perform or sell things to make money. This guy had fingers that ended at the first knuckle yet he was able to make beatiful art.


19th October 2012

Halloween Stuff
Hey Carla ~ I can take you to that crazy market we went to with Ashley and the girls. Ruth and I went this week and found a store that sells halloween stuff....very cheap compared to the normal stores. We just need to figure out a day b4 the 31st. Let me know. Have fun on your field trip tomorrow!!!
20th October 2012

Halloween Stuff
Sounds great! Us teachers were talking and it sounds like a Halloween party might be out of the question for English corner, but I'd like to decorate my classroom and maybe have a small party for some interested students. As for when we could go, I have all of Tuesday afternoon off if you're free then. : )

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb