Tai Chi Laoshi


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Zhangjiagang
September 11th 2006
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have about 10 minutes to kill before I must return to another training workshop! Sorry I haven't updated much, I've been incredibly busy!



Just to update you all....I'm still having a pretty cool time, my job is really good fun and I think very soon I will get out of the habit of waking up early in the mornings dreading the working day ahead because to be honest, this is a very nice job and my salary here is very high by local standards.



I've made a few more friends...Met some business man and his girlfriend in Malone's bar the other night when Lucy was too busy to practice english and chinese with me. This guys name was Pond and he spoke very good English and suggested we go out sometime. Also on my way to Malone's I walked past a big park area kinda thingy and saw some guy practicing Tai Chi. I sat and watched for a few minutes and then when he had finished I went up and tried to ask him what he was doing in Chinese, to see if it was Tai Chi. Luckily he speaks a lot of English and denies his English ability is very good, but he said he would be more than happy to teach me Tai Chi. I had my second lesson last night, its all for free aswell and he really knows what he's doing! Not only that, but he doesn't just do the pretty movements for Tai Chi, he does the whole works, I get the impression he knows Tai Chi as a martial art not just as some pretty pattern. So I stand to learn a lot from him, for free and pretty much everyday, or whenever I can manage it. Which is really nice of him! I told him I will teach him English in return and I need to find some time to do that, probably in my days off.



In other news I bought a bike yesterday, very cheap, cost me about 30 quid including the lock and is very comfortable to ride, although chinese roads will never be comfortable for me! They are very scary. I also bought a DVD player for about 15 quid, and went to buy some DVDs, the woman brought out a bag of them and they were all 8 kwai each....That's about 50p! So I bought a lot of DVDs and will buy some more today! My life here rocks, although I do miss home a little bit.



I must go now! Work calls! Will update soon! And will probably have a laptop in about 6 weeks time when I have enough money so will be able to update more. I'll take some pictures in my days off, and those will be Wednesday and Thursday. Byeee!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb