Wo jiao Xiao Lei


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Zhangjiagang
September 9th 2006
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! Thanks for the comments, although I am not too sure who some people are! Please make your names clearer!



I went to a chinese disco the other day with the other teachers, was a bit of an experience, lots of crappy asian techno and chinese people standing there swaying....Not dancing just swaying...And me and the teachers standing in the corner doing the macerena! Every so often it would stop for some strange performances that sometimes involved attractive women not wearing much, which was cool!



My sleeping patterns have been well and truly messed up. After going out to the chinese disco on wednesday evening, we then went to Malone's where I practiced some more chinese with Lucy and I got so hyped up from it that when I got home I couldn't sleep. By 4am I decided it was time I take a sleeping pill, or two as the case may be and proceeded to sleep right until 3 in the afternoon! Which meant that any sleep I tried to get last night consisted of luckily falling asleep at 11pm....Waking up at 1am....Trying to go back to sleep.....3am I am still trying to go back to sleep.....5am I give up trying to go to sleep as I have to be up for 7am! I have been exhausted today and today was my first actual working day! And I began my work on two hours sleep! How hardore am I!!



I have struck a deal with Lucy at Malone's that I teach her English and she teaches me Mandarin...It's working out well and in the last few days my Mandarin has progressed really well! So well I can even understand some of the locals when they ask me random questions. I went to the supermarket to buy an ironing board yesterday and I'd been there the day before, I recognised the shop assistant that served me the previous day and so went to get served by her again. She recognised me and after talking to her friends said "Ni zhuzai nar?" And that was the first chinese phrase I understood! And I told her where I lived, and I think she said she lives in the same apartment block! And I'm starting to understand more questions now, I even had to translate for one of the other teachers earlier on today.



I finished my first ever class an hour ago, and after about 2 hours of lesson planning (which hopefully will eventually be cut down to 10 minutes or something)
I proceeded to have so much fun!!! Those kids are awesome! They're really lively, and teaching here is so much more fun than when I was teaching over the summer. I'm really going to like this job, and the pay for it is really awesome for this area!



Well I will try and take some photos soon...I just have not been bothered...And if mummy and daddy are reading this, someone will come and sort out my phone so I can use my phone card. I do actually have a landline so you can call me on that....I will email Natalie the number when I know what it is.



And Dawei, zhe shi wo de bi!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.03s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb