Wa Wa's Day - a dog with 3 names - a blog for patti


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Suzhou
September 19th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
If you don't understand my love for dogs or if you don't like them yourself - don't bother reading any further.

On thursday, I was walking with Amanda and came across a little dog.

He was all wonky and rickety and so ugly that he was cute. So I asked around and the bike mender and the shoe man said he didn't belong to anyone so I took him because he was too lovely to just leave.

The second dog I picked up. It could have been my tenth. They get offered to me like old shoes. Something free, something someone else doesn't want, doesn't need, doesn't love.

Mostly, I can turn away. but not for Bob bob at the beginning of the year and not for this little scufty unloved thing.

We all three walked around and then returned to the place I had found the dog. The owner had been around and asked if anyone had seen a little white dog. When the bike man told him a foreigner had taken it, he just said, ‘I give it to her’ and then he walked away. He really didn’t care, so the dog was mine - that easily - easier than old shoes - they need thought.

We walked back to work via the weaving shop and he didn’t mind about anything, walking, chatting, going for tea, eating, waiting - and I just felt as if he’d been with me forever. At work a huge fuss broke out over him and everyone wanted to hold him and talk to him and he just obliged. Until we had to go to the dog hair dressers, which traumatized us both.

Be gentle, don’t poke his eyes.

No, don’t do that, he doesn’t understand.

He’s a dog, not a toy.

He’s called Wa Wa because he snuffles and makes the sound a frog makes.

Give him back to me please.

I need to get out and walk.

So I tied him to my bag string and we walked home, quietly, in the rain and the dirt so he could be a dog again. Not pampered.

He played in my yard and pottered after me without knees, so cute.

I introduced him to my landlady, whose big cats tried to kill him.
I introduced him to Lao Wang who liked him as instantly as I had.
I showed him to the cute guy who owns the greasy spoon and he let us in and then we went to the Bookworm where he was totally accepted and he just lay under the table whilst the jazz singer sang.

Walking back to work, his little legs could take no more and he flopped down in the wet and rain so I carried him carefully back to hand him over to his new mum.

Who loved him so before he even met her.

So, Wa Wa had a very busy day and a bath, food, walk, car ride, poked, pulled and oohed and ahhhed and then, at the end, and ebike ride home to a second and third name.



What more could a little dog do in one day?

He’s now called Wai Wai (wonky)



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

WaWaWaWa
WaWa

with his new mum, Michelle she said i can borrow him


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb