Shan Tang Jie, Bride Street and bikin' films


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Suzhou
September 4th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Lao Wang and Qiao Qiao 16 secs
2: Sharpening the scissors 6 secs
3: My lane and bee bop 58 secs
4: bikin' round 63 secs
5: My lane and bee bop 31 secs
6: Bee bop and Pee P 11 secs
7: posh end of town - gym 58 secs
8: The Master 13 secs
People have started emailing me because they're worried because I'm not updating my blog so much.

Dun worry, I just don't have much to say. My contract is almost up at Web and I'm considering my next steps after it became impossible for me to go on the trek around the Kora at the end of this month with the guys from Hong Kong. So, next year, I can do that one.

For now, I'm planning to go home for winter - I've not seen my family and friends for too long now. When I go, there will also be people here that I will miss very much and already I'm getting a little emotional but it's almost time to go home - try London, Paris - I dun know, all I know is it's nearly time to go.

Anyways, had a great day off yesterday - cycled nearly 50 miles around town and then up to Tiger Hill to meet Clare, all the way back home then to the other side of SIP for the gym - and I went swimming too.

In the afternoon, I met Clare at wedding street which is opposite Tiger Hill - what an experience. Clare's a good mate - she got me 5 good weeks in the best gym in Suzhou and I've been nearly every day but she's leaving for Shenzhen on Thursday and I'll miss her, so that'll be a sad moment too.

Anyways, yesterday, I had time - time to see that the leaves are falling, that the early evening light was beautiful, time to see that when the big black birds in SIP with the white tips on the end of their wings flap them, they look like they have a big white circle around them. I had time to watch the 85 year old woman with one eye that hardly sees potter in her kitchen in semi darkness feeling her way around a house she has lived in for 50 years, time to watch the scissor man sharpen the blades until he accepted me and let me film him, time to say hi to the 2 dogs that are owned by the bird man and live on my lane that I haven't seen for ages and ages, time to talk to the cricket fighting man, the egg lady and time to perfect my new non serious, one handed 'on the move' film - making skills whilst riding my bike one handed and peddaling hard, man. Here are a few short films and photos for you - all taken on my day off yesterday - except for The Master which wouldn't upload months ago.

see, nothing to say except I'm fine and I'm coming home soon
-
Oh what a lovely day off


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

feeding timefeeding time
feeding time

Shu Shu and his son slurping noodles - the little ginger one is mine


4th September 2009

look forward to seeing you again
I really look forward to seeing you again and hearing you laugh. xxxxxx mir ps printed this one for your mum and dad - perhaps last one?
4th September 2009

not quite, still a few weeks left. not sure of plans but I'm lookin' forward to seeing you too. Be careful in Norway.x

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb