suzhou rocks


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Suzhou
May 12th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So it all started on Tuesday. After taking several AFD's and catching up on sleep after MIDI I was feeling social and ready to play again! Fortunately, given I had no classes on Tuesday afternoon I managed to escape my office. Unfortunately, none of my new friends shared my luck. Given it was going to be a quite afternoon I decided to head into The Bookworm, with of course a good book and enjoy the afternoon sun. It was glorious and I should also mention at this point that the weather in Suzhou right now is amazing. Perfect Spring weather, not yet hot enough to burn but just pleasant for sitting in the sun and soaking it up! It was probably good to start the week quitely, and I'm sure the extra AFD didn't hurt either. A pleasant afternoon off work indeed.Wednesday I was sitting at my desk bored shitless (not so into the having to show up to work part anymore, novelty has worn off big time) when my friend Richard called to tell me I should come to Bookworm early as he and his partner Robyn were going to be there from 4pm onwards.

Mate I was so
Mai and I at MIDIMai and I at MIDIMai and I at MIDI

Awesome day, great company, one of the best gigs ever!!!
ready for a beer in the sun I didn't even go home after work. Just got straight on a bus! With Thursday being the only work day that actually resembles a work day I was working on the theory that an early start would mean a reasonable finish time! Although when drinking at The Bookworm this can be a bit tricky! However I got there early, had a few beers and in the end it was a good turn out and I left at a reasonable hour.

Friday I met my friends Helen and Elaine and we decided to go to The Bookworm for dinner. Not because I pretty much live there, but because they don't and they were keen. When we arrived there I ran into Mai, who I met at MIDI last week, and also some other friends I have met on Wednesdays. So after dinner I hung around for a drink. We all know what my version of 'a drink' means. I'd love to describe the whole night in detail but memories are hazy. So here is the run down.There was: debachery; jager; naughty stuff; dancing; silliness; a spanish guy; much shenanigans and fun and I
the endthe endthe end

just a little wasted at the end of the day but lovin the Chips ride. Ha ha ha
arrived home around 11:00am on Saturday.

Saturday night, Steve, another new friend from MIDI had invited me to the opening of a restaurant / bar were he is chefing. Most of the others I've met were going so I wanted to show. So.... after a trip to the Tailors to pick up some new clothes and an extensive Nana Nap I was ready! After the opening, which was great we went to a place called Harry's. Well...firstly it's a bar that used to be a traditional teahouse. I'm not even going to try and describe how amazing this building is. We were then treated to the best covers band I've heard in a long time. Chinese band, but English music. They did everything from REM to Elvis. They even played a Soul Asylum song! The lead singer has one of the most amazing voices ever! They rocked! I was so tired but just couldn't leave as the atmosphere was so great. Apparently they play there all the time so will definitely make that a place to hang out in before i leave!

I can't believe I have only 7 weeks left in Suzhou!!!!! Suzhou is the shit! Seriously
the stagethe stagethe stage

China Rocks On!!!
it's hands down the best city I've ever lived in! Everything I want just falls into my lap here. Seriously on Friday I was just thinking about how I'd love a weekend of live music and dancing and presto, just happened to me pretty much by chance. I have actually had to start running in the mornings now, as something happens almost every night! Life has just been insane for the last month or so but I am loving every second!

Have also meet a very hot Chinese guy recently but don't want to go into too much detail until I know more. Watch this space......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb