The Latest Happenings


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Suzhou
May 12th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well it has been a busy busy busy times indeed! Starting with the MIDI music festival on the May day long weekend!One of the best days I've ever had!

Imagine Perfect weather, great music, awesome company and all the trappings you'd expect from a real music festival with none of the usual trappings such as over zealous police with sniffer dogs, drunken idiots starting brawls and deaths in the mosh pit!It was exactly how a music festival should be, exactly how I imagine they would have been in the 70's. Sitting in a field, surrounded my mountains, being mellow and having a bloody good time. And....all for under $50. I love the way everything is simple and stress free here. I mean in 15 years it will be expensive, westernised bullshit, but I'm wondering right now if I really could live anywhere else in the world and be this happy!

It all begin with a three hour bus ride on the bus of rock! The bus of rock (and I will always refer to the bus of rock as the bus of rock no matter how annoying that might become) left The Bookworm at 10:00am and I met some really cool people whilst waiting. We hung out and partied all day and I mean all day like the gig finished at 11:00pm and we got home at three in the morning. On the bus of rock of course. It was one of those days that you remember forever though and well worth the fact that I was still paying for it come Monday!

I don't know what it is but every time I walk into The Bookworm of late something awesome happens to me. After years of always being in the wrong place at the wrong time and trying to make the best of the situations available to me in Australia, I now find myself always being in exactly the right place at the right time. I am beginning to think it is more than a run of good luck and more that it actually has to do with me and where I fit in the world. Do I really belong in Australia? Although I did actually meet a guy from Perth who is less patriotic than me and that's a pretty big statement! I guess I'll head back in September and see how bad the reverse culture shock hits this time around and take it from there!Anyway things are good, things are very bloody good. I am a little over my job though and am starting to count down to complete freedom and adventure! It is a teaching job after all and we all know how much I love teaching (not) Even when it doesn't suck, it still pretty much sucks for me. I look at some of the people I've met here who go on and on about how they're just as into the teaching as the actual being here and I wish I had that kind of enthusiasm for teaching but I just don't and never will. Unfortunately for me it will never be anything more than the vessel that puts food on the table. (and funds my travel adventures)

n other news I checked out the Suzhou night market on Thursday night which was awesome, as night markets in Asia often are. Will definitely be making a few trips back there before I leave Suzhou. Also I have met a really nice guy, Jamie, from Sichuan (where the earthquake was last year) and given that Sichuan is between Xian and Yunnan it is looking likely that it will be added to my adventure checklist. He will actually be there in July when I am traveling through, which is perfect. Like I say good things just keep happening. Our meeting was yet another right time, right place Bookworm score. We have hung out some and connect well (he speaks awesome English) so am getting to know him better here and looking forward to meeting up with him later when we both have more downtime.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb