Close but not quite


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
August 8th 2010
Published: August 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I took the bus down to Nanjing from Qingdao because otherwise I would have to wait a week until the train had a seat available. I guess that it is on the same route as the Shanghi to Beijing so it is always full of travelers. I decided that I would force myself to be in a better mood since otherwise I would start to hate traveling and I still have a long time left to go. I got into the hostel and left to see the city since I only had a couple days here. I'm glad to be here in Nanjing, I almost forgot what it was like to have your eyes water from pollution. When I left the hostel my Tshirt was practically see thru it was so hot and I was sweating so much. This did not deter me I kept walking when a 10year old girl came running down the side walk at me lifting her dress over her head. I stopped waiting for Chris Hansen to step out from around the corner, but she pulled down her underwear and started going to the bathroom. Then I realized that I wasn't in the suburbs in the states anymore, I was in China, this was perfectly acceptable. All I had to do was walk around her and keep going, which is exactly what I did. I saw a Confusion temple or was it a Buddhist temple, I can't really remember and they are all beginning to look the same. The city of Nanjing is mostly surrounded by a wall similar to that of Xi'an. I went up and paid to walk up the walk, only to realize that the rest of it was blocked off, so I really just paid to get a 30ft higher view of the polluted city.

The next day I had plans to go to Sun Yatsen Mausoleum and Xiaoling Tomb of the Ming Dynasty. I took the subway as far as I thought that it would take me then started walking. I then realized I could have transfer to the line two and gotten closer. No map that I had showed there even being a line two, but I got back on and got a couple miles closer. I started walking again and had some horrible luck finding the places. I found the Sun Yatsen Mausoleum Administration building, but not the actual location. Then I found the Ming Dynasty Museum I was so discouraged that I didn't even go into the place. I started walking towards what looked like a row of stone animals and thought well at least it would be something. I came across a place that wanted me to pay to enter. I had no idea what I was paying for, but with the 70 Yuan price tag it had to be something good. They gave me a map and as it turns out that the city of Nanjing decided to put all its attractions right in the center of this one park where you could go and see them all with ease. I had been walking for quite some time and the attractions were still a large distance apart so I did not see them all. Once I spent almost the equivalent amount of money in water as the entrance fee I decided to call it a day and go back to the hostel where I would be leaving the next day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb