Nanjing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
March 13th 2009
Published: March 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

HotelHotelHotel

Room
Last weekend, USAC had an overnight trip to Nanjing. We had to leave Shanghai University at 8:30 am. The bus ride was about 4 hours, but that was extended to 6-7 hours since our bus broke down in the middle of our trip. We were at a rest stop and we had to wait a couple hours for another bus to come. Since we arrived to Nanjing later than planned, our itinerary for the first day was pushed to the second day. The hotel we stayed at was probably one of the nicest places I have ever stayed at. It was called Nanjing Jintailong International Hotel. Our room was quite large, with very soft beds, a sweet bathroom, computer with fast internet, and a flat-screen TV. I did not want to leave the room because it was so comfortable. We ate lunch at a restaurant across the street. The food was fairly decent but a lot of USACers did not like it. There was a lot of fish, and I am one of few in the group who enjoys fish. Since our itinerary was pushed one day and dinner was not provided, You Sha compensated each of us with 50 RMB
HotelHotelHotel

Computer w/ Internet
for dinner = More booze money…just kidding. For dinner a group of us (7) went to Pizza Hut. In America, Pizza Hut is probably one of the shittiest places you could go to for dinner, but here, Pizza Hut is a very nice RESTAURANT with great service, leather-bound menus with pictures of the dishes. They even have a drink and dessert menu. Basically, Pizza Hut would be a great place to take a girl on a date. In addition, all the waitresses were fairly cute :-D. After dinner, I went back to my room and took a little nap. Eventually, my friends Soyeon and Jessie gave me a call, so I went over to their room to hang out for a little bit. We ended up going out to a club/bar called Scarlett where we met other USACers. The club was probably the most “asian” club I’ve been to so far, but it was a cool little place. I decided not to drink anything just to save money and since we had to wake up early the next day. We eventually left because the bar wanted us to buy a table and a bottle.
The next day, our itinerary was
HotelHotelHotel

Beds
quite full. First we went to the city wall which surrounds the city of Nanjing and then the Nanjing Massacre Museum. Cameras were not allowed in the Massacre Museum, so I do not have any pictures from there. That museum has a very powerful emotional affect when you go there. When I was there 4 years ago it pissed me off and this time it pissed me off again. Everyone was depressed. After that we went to Sun Yat-sen’s Mausoleum which had a long pathway with a large set of stairs. I climbed all the way to the top again and I found the ice cream stand where I got my first red-bean ice cream 4 years ago. This time I did not get any because it was too cold. We finished our day by visiting the Xiaoling Tomb of the Ming Dynasty. To me, that place was not very exciting.
Shawn and I decided to stay an extra day in Nanjing while the rest of USAC went back home to Shanghai by bus. We were dropped off in the middle of Nanjing and we took a taxi to his Aunt’s house. There I met Shawn’s two cousins and his
HotelHotelHotel

Flat-screen TV
aunt and uncle. They were very nice, but it was a little awkward because I did not speak or understand much Chinese. After we ate dinner, Shawn’s cousins took us out to look for markets, but most of them were closed. We ended up at an internet bar and we played video games for a couple hours. The next day Shawn and I went to Fuzimiao to do some souvenir shopping. I found the hotel that my family and I stayed at the last time we were in Nanjing. I mostly bought stuff for my sister and some DVDs. In the markets they sold rabbits, turtles, hamsters, and dogs. I took a couple pictures of the dogs. Later that afternoon we had to leave Nanjing and go back to Shanghai.

Tomorrow I leave for a weekend trip to Chongqing, a week-long trip in Chengdu, and a weekend trip to Qingdao.



Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

HotelHotel
Hotel

Bathroom
HotelHotel
Hotel

Toilet
HotelHotel
Hotel

Shower
Mandarin Gardens HotelMandarin Gardens Hotel
Mandarin Gardens Hotel

Hotel I stayed at last time
FuzimiaoFuzimiao
Fuzimiao

Market
FuzimiaoFuzimiao
Fuzimiao

Market
HotelHotel
Hotel

Lobby
HotelHotel
Hotel

Lobby
City WallCity Wall
City Wall

Soyeon and Me
City WallCity Wall
City Wall

Some random kid
Sun Yat-sen's MausoleumSun Yat-sen's Mausoleum
Sun Yat-sen's Mausoleum

View from the top.


Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb