National Holiday Tour


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
October 1st 2005
Published: October 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

In China, they have a National Holiday which is a week of break that allows people to go back to their hometown and celebrate with their families. Well, for National Holiday My program planned a tour package for us. Our tour package would take us to Nanjing, Wuxi, Suzhou, Hangzhou, and Shanghai. We took a train ride to our initial destination which was Nanjing. Somehow we booked our tickets too late so we caught the slow train. The train ride ended up to be 17 hours. The train had bunk beds that stacked up three beds high so we were able to sleep.

We finally reach Nanjing and meet up with our tour group. The tour group consisted of 40 people and it just so happens that this tour group was all international people. We hoped onto a bus and we went straight to our first historical site. The pictures will tell you where I went. By the end our first night, everyone was tired and ready for bed. Our bus makes a turn into a dark street and continues for about 5 miles. We make a sudden stop in front of this building. It was our hotel of the night. It was dark, musty, dirty, weird, not safe, and it was a motel. You know you’re in the RED LIGHT DISTRICT when your motel says “50RMB for 3 hours”….Hmmmmm. We got our rooms and it reeked of mold. My roommate and I walked into the room killing 5 mosquitoes each. When I took a shower I killed 5 more mosquitoes. The lights went out on me while I took a shower. When we were about to go to sleep I found stains on my bed and I killed 5 more mosquitoes. I think our on site coordinator booked the cheapest package she could and pocketed the rest of the money. What a night!..............................


Advertisement



14th October 2005

wuts rmb stand for?
15th October 2005

Yuck!
Hey Jon, That motel sounds awful. Did you complain? I am proud of you for being able to get through it. I hope you have better experience later. Love, Hani
17th October 2005

Ewwwwwwwwwwww
I'm getting itchy just reading your description.....gross Jonathan!!!!!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb