Carrefour: lots of stuff in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Nanjing
January 6th 2007
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

deep fogdeep fogdeep fog

We had several days of fog. Here is the suburban campus shrouded in fog.
January, 6, 2007

Happy new year!

As I walked home yesterday, I passed the erhu player and gave him his picture and one yuan (he is a beggar). Then I passed the popcorn man and gave him his picture. In a few minutes, two girls, probably early twenties, stopped me and in school English asked me to take their picture. I guess they want me to give them the print later. I took their picture and showed it to them on the camera. I wonder if I should print is and carry it around until I see them again. They were very happy and laughing a lot and trying to remember their English. So, of course, I was laughing, too and trying to remember my Chinese.

Yesterday I went shopping at Carrefour. I wanted to go to Walmart but it wasn’t on my map. Well, the Carrefour wasn’t the one I had visited before, but the first one in the city. I really had a good time. All the stuff in stores amazes me, both in the U.S. and here in China. Well, it’s a lot of different stuff here. (Carrefour is a French chain; Walmart is a
table decoration at Christmas partytable decoration at Christmas partytable decoration at Christmas party

The Jiansu Province Christmas party for foreign teachers had beautiful table decorations.
US chain.)

My list was short: ibuprofen (Advil), tooth paste, deodorant, eggs, wall hooks, coffee, etc. I was so amazed at what was there that I bought a toaster, a small tea thermos, paper clips, green tea, broccoli with something (either lichen, mushrooms, or seaweed). The deodorant was a challenge. A young clerk told the others, yes, and took me to a small corner shelf with one brand in four scents. No one here has bad body odor, so I wonder how or why. I did pick up what I thought was shampoo. Two young clerks came after me and explained that it was conditioner, not shampoo--another international brand, Head & Shoulders.

The marketers were out with the tasting samples. One was a great soup, so I bought the package, by Maggi. The coffee was in the imported foods aisle. Local coffee is mostly by Nestle and is all instant coffee, usually packaged with milk and sugar. Nestle is pushing their packages of tea with milk. Young women were offering samples.

I spent a long time looking at computers. There was a great Acer laptop on sale for $670. One day only sale. So tempting. Likewise with
Silver tree in my lobbySilver tree in my lobbySilver tree in my lobby

My apartment building lobby was decorated for Christmas. We each signed gift tags that were hung on the tree.
the wool comforters. Today the temperature is 28 F. But my heater was fixed so I’m fine now in my apartment. But my bathroom is still cold, like most bathrooms. So I bought a plaid toilet seat cover. Check the picture.

My last section was fresh foods where I got the broccoli, some spicy chicken, and these wonderful stuffed leaf things. (See the photo.) One of my students gave me two for Christmas and they were so good, I wanted more. Hers were better than Carrefour’s. (Would someone please put the name in the comments section for me?) I did like the meat counter where you can handle the meat, and check out both sides of it. Much better than buying a closed pack of pork chops and find out when you open it at home that the bottom ones are scrap chops. The next time I come here I want to bring a Chinese cook who can tell me what to do with the different foods.

Linell and I were looking along Hunan Road for a Mongolian Hot Pot restaurant--great food for cold weather. We didn't find one, but we did find a place where you grill
Mary Kay pink carMary Kay pink carMary Kay pink car

I like Mary Kay cosmetics, so here's a winner of a pink car in front of the Mary Kay store next to my bank.
your own food. A grill is put on the table (under an exhaust chimney). We chose small yellow tuna, mutton skewers, frogs legs, eggplant, and yams. You can't have a deep conversation because you are too busy cooking. We had cumin and hot peppers to sprinkle on the food and a soy sauce dip. It was delicious.

Our three day New Year’s vacation was cold and rainy. Good days for me to work on my American income taxes. (For those of you who wonder, I get a long extension through the late spring and will file then.) Only a couple of weeks until the semester ends and my sister, Sally, comes to visit me. She will be here two weeks. We will go to Xi’an for part of that time, so you will finally see more of China than my daily adventures in Nanjing. As you can tell from the blogs, I'm fascinated with daily life here. Transportation, shopping, cooking and food, raising children, play, entertainment, education and work are my interests.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

after church on Christmas eveafter church on Christmas eve
after church on Christmas eve

All 12 of us were waiting for a table at the restaurant after church on Christmas eve, Dec. 24.
Susie and narcissus bulbSusie and narcissus bulb
Susie and narcissus bulb

I've just bought a huge paper white bulb with 10 shoots to force in my apartment.
My students after churchMy students after church
My students after church

Here's part of the group who wanted to go to church for the Christmas service.
even the veges reflect the Christmas colorseven the veges reflect the Christmas colors
even the veges reflect the Christmas colors

Wonderful fresh veges in red and green.
darling dog reminds me of Warholdarling dog reminds me of Warhol
darling dog reminds me of Warhol

This dog reminded me of my 'grand-dog', although this is more of an outdoor dog. He is trained to stay on the warm bed.
This wrapped food is deliciousThis wrapped food is delicious
This wrapped food is delicious

Inside is soft rice and beans, or an egg, or sausage. What is it called?
New Year's Pops ConcertNew Year's Pops Concert
New Year's Pops Concert

The symphony played a variety of western and Chinese music. I had a great time. Now I want more concert music.
some wonderful studentssome wonderful students
some wonderful students

Here are some great students from my classes.
see how warmly they are dressedsee how warmly they are dressed
see how warmly they are dressed

This is a cold classroom, like all of them. But everyone works hard.
More studentsMore students
More students

Happy students--we are near the end of the semester.
These two girls wanted me to take their photoThese two girls wanted me to take their photo
These two girls wanted me to take their photo

After I passed out pictures to the erhu man and the popcorn man, these two girls wanted their picture taken.
They may be in a cold room, but they are warmThey may be in a cold room, but they are warm
They may be in a cold room, but they are warm

Good warm clothes and a warm drink for class.
warm seat coverwarm seat cover
warm seat cover

This is a plaid wool (I think) seat cover for a cold bathroom! Brilliant idea!


7th January 2007

hooray for more blogs!
I cannot remember what those wrapped things are called either. I ate them once and thought I was supposed to eat the leaf. lol. If I remember, I will comment again. My dad probably knows what they are called. I love your photos and blogs! Keep them up, please? =) I cannot wait to see what kind of adventures you and Sally have.
7th January 2007

Food, photos, and, of course...
Shopping! Sounds like you're having a great time and doing all the right things to enjoy yourself.
9th January 2007

those wrapped things
The rice plus mystery ingredients wrapped in a triangular shape are called zongzi.
10th January 2007

Happy New Year!!
Susan: Your explorations are so interesting, please keep them coming!!! So glad your sister is coming. Please detail everything you do while she's there!! Peggy
11th January 2007

Hello
I enjoy reading about your daily life in China and am glad you're enjoying yourself. We missed you at the Thanksgiving reunion and look forward to seeing you when you return to Atlanta.
24th March 2007

Leaf Wrapped Rice.
In Hawaii it is called Joong (Cantonese).
26th May 2007

a late entry
Don't know if you'll see this - just now read your really interesting winter blog with pix. that wool toilet seat cover! such an interesting narrative. thanks for sending the info on summer jobs. Jesse is taking a Spanish immersion course - live, eat, sleep together for summer semester in athens speaking only spanish. two course credit. Sounds like fun! Thanks and much love! nan

Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 15; qc: 85; dbt: 0.1068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb