BC EC CD


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Changzhou
October 31st 2009
Published: November 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: BC EC CD 162 secs
At all the big social gatherings I've been to, everyone sings. Everyone. And they ask, if not expect, you to sing too. I wonder if maybe since Chinese is a tonal language, no one is tone deaf, so no one is afraid of singing in public like so many people are in the US. Now, I'm not tone deaf, but I haven't sung in public since I was a toddler; my range isn't wide enough to ensure that for any given song in any given key I can hit all the notes without having to switch octaves, and my straining at the upper and lower limits of my modest range isn't much fun to listen to.

Anyway, at all these gatherings I have been asked, and indeed almost expected, to sing. And I don't want to, not only for the reason above but because the selection of karaoke backup music and lyrics is usually pretty limited for English songs. Luckily, I have an oral instrumental alternative. I put it to use at a Halloween party thrown by the students who are preparing to study in Canada and Ireland. Hope you enjoy.

Oh, it also seems to be the custom for random people from the audience to come bring you and/or decorate you in things while you're performing. As you will see.

And if my face looks a bit pale or if you can make out the slightly unusual styling of my hair, that's because it was my rough draft of my Edward Cullen outfit for Halloween.


P.S. Contrary to popular bELIefZA, the title of this post does not stand for "Ben Creed Exits China Christmas Day." (My apologies to the dozens of other acronym-solvers out there who I've no doubt thrown for emotional roller coasters of their own.) Ten points if you can figure out the meaning and post your solution as a comment.

Advertisement



23rd November 2009

Ben Creed's Edward Cullen Compact Disc
23rd November 2009

Close
Nice try! You got the first two (though the possessive [i]'s[/i] is wrong).
24th November 2009

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
Ben Creed Edward Cullen Celine Dion. You're a celebrity!
25th November 2009

We have a winner!
Ten points for Natania!!!
25th November 2009

Whisler
Ben, That was so fabulously you. Loved it!

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb