New School and apartment


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hunan » Yongzhou » Jianghua
May 9th 2010
Published: May 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived here early evening Friday, having left Yangshuo at 08:10am. I was told the bus ride would take around 4-5 hours from Gulin, so after 6 hours and continuous rural landscapes I had convinced myself I had either taken the wrong bus or had missed the point I was supposed to get off at.

I was sure that I was supposed to get off at the end at a bus station, but as I sat there looking more and more pregnant from my swelling bladder, I went over and over in my mind what Desta from the Buckland office had said. It was vague to say the least, it had not actually been said to get off at the end and that it was a bus station, however I had somehow gotten this impression and was now beginning to feel it was my imagination.

After trying to speak Chinese, unsuccessfully, from my phrase book to the guy across the aisle and showing him my ticket, I was still none the wiser, he just looked at me strangely before turning his back on me to laugh about me with his friend. I wasn't sure whether this was a bad sign, whether he was laughing because I was supposed to get off an hour ago, or because my Chinese was atrocious. So my only option left open to me was to pray, and I did that over and over. I don't mean get on my knees and pray with my joined hands in the air, for one thing I wouldn't have room in the aisle which was occupied with waste paper bins that they spent the whole journey hacking up into and chucking fag ends in. But with my fingers interlaced in my lap and then in my head I didn't exactly pray to god, but rather begged him, every other word possibly replaced with a desperate expletive.

I was trying to figure out what I was going to do, get off at the next big town and get a bus back. But it was getting late, and I could already guarantee that no one would speak English, so how the hell would I explain what I wanted, and how would I find out which bus, when, how long, when do I get off this time? I was stuffed basically, so it was not an option to sit on this thought much further. I had to believe in God, and believe I was still on route to where I had to be. Afterall we had hit a lot of possible delays, they had kept stopping to put a load of trade stuff in the belly of the bus, which in itself was an annoyance and inconvenience to me. They removed my bags from there and brought them onto the bus, making it awkward for me to leave the bus at the toilet and food stops. There was always another passenger close to my bags who decided to stay on at these points and therefore I never felt comfortable enough to leave them, hence bursting for the toilet. Luckily I had the foresight to bring some banana chips for the journey so I wasn't too hungry.

I watched every sign avidly, although only about 5% had the Pinyin names on (Western), all others were in Chinese Characters, which I tried to match up to my ticket. Every time I saw large buildings my heart leapt thinking it looked like a big city, only to then pass these random sporadic blocks to realise it was nothing like a city.

Eventually one of these apparitions turned into reality, it was a city at last, and I saw a sign for Lanshan - YEY!!! It was all I could do not to jump up and squeal with joy, but I have learnt that showing your emotions is not the done thing here.

So the bus ride in the end only took 7 HOURS!!! Awesome, the Chinese have absolutely no sense of urgency I have noticed everyday so far, very frustrating when you have places to be or people to meet, or planes to catch.

I like this city, it is small, only 2 major roads, so for once I won't get lost. taking a rickshaw to anywhere within the city cost just 3yuan (under 30 pence).

I feel like a celebrity here, everyone smiles and stares, shouts hello. People talk about you as you pass, everyone wants to drink with you and eat with you, which is lovely if not a little unerving.

I went to buy a chinese sim card the other day and they treated me like royalty, I also got a free gift with the sime card - bet you can't guess what it is............................have you guessed yet? Nope guess again..................... you won't get it so I will just tell you, a pack of coat hangers!!!! hehehe, laughs aside I really did need them, so that was handy.

People can be so nice here, so complimentary, I keep being told how beautiful I am and how skillfull I am with chopsticks and a lovely speaking voice, I know this is because I am foreign and therefore a novelty, but it is still so nice to hear when you walk into a classroom or past people 'ohhh, so beautiful'.

I have 14 classes a week and they all study the same grade, so I only really have 1 lesson plan to do a week, with slight modifications per class, so this is an easy life, I have tuesdays off as well as the weekends. Basically with lesson plans I do about 11/12 hours per week. For that I get free accomodation, meals and a wage of about 400pounds a month. Nice work if you can get it!!

Scroll to below text to see more pictures....


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 25


Advertisement



9th May 2010

looking forward to your next entry Jessica - can you take some pics of your apartment for me to see. Ta Mumxxxxxxxxx
13th May 2010

Hey! Nice to see you made it there! Seriously throwing you on a bus and saying "good luck!" maybe a nerve wrecking experience but it's kinda better than getting coddled the whole time. And now you have a cool story to tell! :D Hope you enjoy it there. I can't think about how far Jianghua is from me but maybe I can make it down there sometime. I actually know the teachers that were there 2 years ago. If I recall there was a serious mold problem in the summer so get ready for that. By the looks of how many books your kids have, they're senior 2? Now that the hard part is over you can enjoy your time here. If you need any help just ask a student. They are more friendly and willing to help and typically your FAO is too busy to do anything in a timely matter. Your students will be your best friends. OOOH, you get a Chinese name yet? :D
17th May 2010

:)
Hey Jess, I have just finished reading your blog :) it was strange reading it, as I actually imagined you speaking it as I was reading :) ! Glad to know all is well with you, pretty much an experience of a life time so enjoy every moment. Another blog entry soon would be nice ! We are missing you and thinking of you Love Rachx
21st May 2010

Hey
Hi how are you? Thanks for your message, it has been manic as you will be well aware, I barely get a chance to write - well that isn't completely true, I do get the chance, but I have become so lazy here and adopted the laid back attitude of the Chinese :-) Well it sounds like your friends had the same apartment as me - major leak and damp - awesome so Buckland are sending me elsewhere next semester, I said I wanted to stay the rest of the semester here as the thought of finding my way to another place is not appealing, so i will try and learn as much Chinese as possible lol. Yeah they are senior 2's so I was lucky I think. I have no chinese name yet, everyone asks me but no one has given me one yet :-( I think my nickname is beautiful lol which I won't complain about! I can't buy a bottle of water without being asked to join the shop owners or restaurant owners for a sit down chat (neither of which will understand the other). Anyway I am enjoying it her, a little bored however as not many hours and the city is very small Hope you are well, speak soon. Jess

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb