Getting Ready For My Happy Return and Departure...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
January 29th 2014
Published: January 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Spring Festival TimeSpring Festival TimeSpring Festival Time

As weather gets cold and Spring Festival approaches, the area becomes adourned with the decor of drying meat and fish.
Alright, if anybody is still reading this, here's the update: I leave within the next two weeks!!! Out of China, into Nepal, then India, then home.

I finished teaching all my classes-college and children. It's nice to have a little time to do nothing before leaving. I think about the fact that I am really going back to Nepal and I feel so excited, then nauseous hah. I don't take it as a bad sign though, I feel like people don't think it's the smartest decision for me to go there. It's right though, I want to be there, and I can be there, so why not!

So here's the plan: I will spend a month at the children's home with the kids I met last summer. Then I will travel around Nepal for a month or so checking out temples and paragliding and just soaking it all in. After that I will go to India to join a family I knew back in America who will be doing some wonderful work. Hopefully I can be of use to them, possibly helping start an English program. I would love to make use of my experience here in China with
Cooking PartyCooking PartyCooking Party

Cooking with a couple friends before they go home for the holiday
teaching English. Alright, so I will spend a couple months there and then head to America to start up life again. I would like nothing more than to work with Refugees again, but we will see!

This is the idea...things are going pretty smoothly except the travel to India isn't quite what I want. Flights have full overnight layovers and bus rides are long and uncomfortable. I would stop overnight in a middle city to keep away from night bus rides. This affects how I get my luggage around too. If I take a plane, I'll just fly out of India...if I take a bus I don't want to take all my luggage on the top of buses so then I will need to go back into Nepal. It would be the most beautiful thing if somehow a nonstop flight became available as my friends thought it would be.

I can't finish without saying I will definitely miss my friends here and some things about my life here. I am excited though to get back to cultural adventures and to be closer to family in America.

Alright, peace!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Crowds...Crowds...
Crowds...

There is no logic, just pushing
FriendsFriends
Friends

We took a trip to Xiamen and rested at a temple one day
Hot SpringsHot Springs
Hot Springs

We went to a hot springs resort. so relaxing. and so tiring. it was really nice to feel so warm


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb