Changes


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
September 13th 2012
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I've noticed two changes on campus since my previous visit: More cars and more foreign students.

Last year, the biggest risk to bike riders were the campus shuttles that speed up and down the main road between the east and west campus and between my hotel and my classroom as well as other bicyclists. Now, cars zip along the road in greater numbers, generally disregarding pedestrians and bicyclists. What's surprising is the number of BMW's and Mercedes included in the mis.

China's "soft diplomacy" has led to a significant increase in foreign students on campus. China gives full scholarships and stipends to graduate students, primarily from Africa and the Middle East. In addition to more classes taught in English, restaurants to serve this growing student population have popped up, with several Muslim restaurants opening. That's increased the number of restaurants on campus catering to English-speaking students. While Oxygen Cafe near the Foreign Student Housing was the only such restaurant last year, at least three others have opened since.

One thing that hasn't changed are some of my favorite places to eat on campus, including the hotel's daily breakfast buffet and a couple of student cafeterias. The breakfast buffet gives me the sustenance I need to get me through a long morning of teaching. I love the cafeterias, since no Chinese is required. All that's needed is a pointing finger and "chega" (this). I've also discovered a couple of new places off campus with the help of Luna, my TA. Food...one of the things I love about being here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



17th September 2012

Students Blogs
Thanks for your grateful student blog informations.

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb