End of the semester


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
December 31st 2008
Published: December 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’m officially finished with all school related work for this semester. Yesterday was a big event at the school, called the English flea market. The kids and teachers all had to bring in toys and things to sell, and the day was used to practice buying, selling, and bartering in English. I brought in teaching aids that were either no longer useful, or which the kids had battered beyond repair, and let the kids have at them for next to no money. My fourth grade students caught me while I was setting up, and bought almost everything before I could even put most of it on the table. I had a few nice stuffed animals that I’d used for Kindergarten, and I think the kids were thrilled to get their hands on them.

The buying part was more interesting. The classrooms were set up like markets, with kids selling their wares at their desks. Most of the kids had made signs in English, advertising what they were selling, and why people should buy it. I have to admit that I bought a lot of stuff that I really didn’t want… mostly because my kids were working really hard to get me to do so. I didn’t buy anything that was more than one yuan, though.

Grade one was hilarious. The kids had less English, of course, and didn’t yet really understand the bartering system. A typical conversation with one of the kids went something like this:

Me: How much is the pencil?
Kid: 100 Yuan!
Me: Too expensive!
Kid: 5 mao! (half a Yuan)
Me: *gets out money*
Kid: Wo geh ni!!! (I want to give it to you as a gift!!)

First grade was pretty hectic. Half the kids were hanging on me trying to give me all of their belongings, while the other half were sneaking up and putting stickers on me and then trying to charge me five Yuan for them.

Overall the event was a huge success. The kids were able to practice functional English in a way that they really enjoyed, and they came out of it with some pocket change, a load of new toys, or both. The Chinese teachers at the school were really into it, and many of them were more cheerful than I’d ever seen them. The foreign teachers got a good chance to interact with the kids beyond the typical classroom script, and the kids also got the chance to practice their English with all of the different foreigners, and not just the one that they see in their classroom every day. It was one of those days that made me happy that I chose the school and the country that I did, out of all of the other offers that I received.


Now, onto vacation plans! On Friday I’m leaving for Kunming, where I’ll be doing a two week intensive course in Chinese (many thanks to family members, who paid the deposit money.). After that there is still a little uncertainty as to how I’ll spend the next three weeks of my vacation. My ideal plan is to take a train to Nanning, and spend two nights there, and then take another train into Hanoi (Vietnam). I’d like to spend about five to seven days in Vietnam, and then see if I can afford a trip to Beijing, Shanghai, or both. The biggest obstacle in terms of this plan would be getting a Vietnam tourist visa. I have no clue how to go about it. My alternate plan is to travel around Yunnan province for awhile, and then go to Shanghai.

I probably should have made an entry about Christmas in China, but I was really busy at the time. One of the teachers here booked us a private room at Aloha, which is a Western style restaurant in Wuhan. They served us turkey, stuffing, roast beef, ham, potatoes, sweet potatoes, hot chocolate, eggnog, salad, and desserts. All was unlimited and delicious, and the whole deal was fairly inexpensive. We also did a secret santa, and sang carols in the back of a fruit van. It was a fun night.

Advertisement



31st December 2008

Christmas in a far land...
I bet that school and country are equally happy that you chose them! The flea markets sound wonderful fun. I think there's a breakthrough in learning a foreign language at school, when you get a chance to use it with someone who isn't your teacher or classmate, and you realise that yes, you CAN communicate with other people using this strange arrangement of sounds! You're doing wonders helping those children make this breakthrough, honey. You may find getting a visa for Vietnam a tad slow, or complicated - I don't really know - but whatever you do in the way of travelling, I hope it'll be interesting, comfortable, and very good fun.
31st December 2008

Glad to hear you finished up the 'year' on such a positive note.....I hope your travel plans work out to your satisfaction.....Cheers for 2009!!!! (cc to Betty and Carole....who, of course, could log on themselves but do not seem to spend as much time on a computer as I do.....When I hand them your blog printed they really enjoy reading it!!!!)
31st December 2008

Glad you had a good time over Christmas! The flea market sounds a bit like something they have in Amsterdam on Queen's Day - kids put out a blanket on the street and put all the stuff they want to sell on it, though of course there it's just a yearly thing and doesn't have the bonus of language-learning...
1st January 2009

Visa for vietnam
There is a Vietamese visa (consulate?) office in Nanning. It is on Minzu Da Dao just past the Nanhu Lu bridge. I think it take 1 to 4 days to get the visa. For a 1 day. visa, get there early and pay extra money. Two ways to get to Vietnam from Nanning is by train or by bus. Another way is to get to Hanoi indirectly may to go there Via Ha long Bay, Vietnam. Happpy New Years.
1st January 2009

Kumming
I just reread your post...There may be a Vietamese visa ( consulate?) office in Kumming also. I am not 100 % positive on this point. If there is one there then you probably will not need to rush your visa application. Good luck!

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb