Our kids:)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Wuhan
October 28th 2008
Published: October 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Our talented little stars:) 46 secs
2: Pint-sized ping pong player! 25 secs
Class 2Class 2Class 2

This is class 2 - every grade has up to 8 classes on our school. Only the top 1 or two classes have a foreign teacher.
I tried uploading videos yesterday, but they were taking too long and I head to head home. So I'm trying again. Keep your fingers crossed, there should be two videos here when I am done. The first is of our kids (mostly Jean's grade 5 students, a few of my grade 4 students) - they are putting on a performance for the Swedish delegation we had here last week. Honestly, the best part of having those ladies here was seeing what our kids can do! They're amazing, they put their all into everything they do (well, most of the time😊. The second video is of the ping-pong club - this little guy is only in grade 2, and already he can hit that ball faster then I could ever dream of! And this teacher, no matter where that ball went she had it. Unbelievable!

Every day I'm confronted with the spirit of these kids. You know, Chinese children have a lot of pressure on them. Because of the one-child policy (which the majority of Chinese agree with), these kids have their entire families future resting on their shoulders. Most of them have glasses, many of them have classes outside of
EmmaEmmaEmma

She is so serious, you'd think she was 45! This little girl's smiles are rare, she is an incredibly hard worker, and one of the leaders in the class. She's going places! It's one of my goals to make her smile every day.
school - and most kids go to school for at least 10 hours a day! Seriously, they are at school before 8am, and many don't leave until after 7pm. Could you have done that in Grade 4? Because there are so many students in China, and not enough teachers, there are multiple "levels" in the school system. Before grade 1, each child takes a test, and depending on their score (also who they know, or how much money their family has), that is the school they go to. Again in grade 6 they take a test to enter middle school, again for high school, then again for university. In May, National Geographic did an entire issue devoted to China, and in it they stated that only 30% of university age kids get accepted each year, there is just not enough room for every student who wants to attend. Yet every day when I walk into my classroom, I am greeted by smiles, hugs, tickles, gifts, and laughter. I don't think I could do it if I was put in their place! It makes me feel guilty sometimes - I earned a certificate in five days that enables me to do
Eye exercisesEye exercisesEye exercises

Every second period the kids do a series of different exercises designed to help them relax and rest - yeah right!
what these kids might never do, even if they study for years! I work at the 3rd best elementary school in the entire city of Wuhan (my co-teacher Jenny took five years of school to do what I do, works sometimes twice the hours, and gets paid half my salary).

For those of you that know me well, one of the things I'm always saying is I want to make a difference. Well, here I actually feel like I am. I have the power to change these kids lives, and in turn, make their families lives better. It's a HUGE responsibility, but I cherish it.

Anyways, I know I kind of went on a tangent there, but these kids are so special, and these little videos don't do them justice. We're so proud of them, they're amazing, I wish you could all meet them. Keep them in your prayers, ok?


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

AnnAnn
Ann

She always has a smile, and is a very smart little girl.
Angel and BobAngel and Bob
Angel and Bob

Both of these kids have burst into tears in my class - Angel because she couldn't remember how to spell some words during dictation, Bob because he wasn't paying attention and Jenny got upset. Both of these kids are good students, and try so hard - and both have improved in their English!
WillWill
Will

For some reason, Will decided to put his name card on top of his pop bottle - we were having a party in class this day, and he just couldn't wait!
JoyJoy
Joy

She was absolutely terrified of me at the beginning of this semester, but has warmed up considerably. Now she is actually passing, and always has a huge smile for me when I walk into class:)
Trouble!Trouble!
Trouble!

Bird (back of the right row) is my challenge. And this week I've seen some progress! Tom (middle of the right row) has two moods - happy and angry. Thankfully the happy one is around most often. And Jason (front of right row) couldn't pay attention in class if I paid him to! But we're starting to see results there too:)
Trouble with happy faces:)Trouble with happy faces:)
Trouble with happy faces:)

The same kids, but all smiles:)
See Sophie?See Sophie?
See Sophie?

She's the one in the orange shirt - she's Doreens daughter. Her English is close to being the best in the class, though she's rather shy. These two rows are all really good kids!
GoofsGoofs
Goofs

Angel and Bob, among others... being goofy:)
Trouble in back...Trouble in back...
Trouble in back...

Rabbit (bottom right) is an awesome student, good English. Lily (second on the left) is my little helper, she pops into my office at lunchtime to see if I'm having a good day - such a sweetie. And see in the back? Three naughty boys getting scolded by the class driver.
Story timeStory time
Story time

Sophie and Lucy listening to Jenny tell a story.
Standing alone...Standing alone...
Standing alone...

Tom standing for talking (again) and Bird answering a question...
More stories...More stories...
More stories...

Jessica (on the right) is one of my best students, she can answer almost any question you ask her. Another class leader - and always full of smiles!
So many...So many...
So many...

Zelda (bottom left), so small, tries so hard - Nick (bottom right), always in la-la-land - Mandy (in braids and smiles near the back), another student who always tries to make me smile - Kevin ( with glasses near the back) always full of mischief.
Nike and AprilNike and April
Nike and April

April was one of our video dancers, while Nike... his mom works at our school, and he is such a hard worker! This kid would make a really good boss lol!
AnnaAnna
Anna

Second from the left, she is taller then I am by a good 3 inches! She towers over everyone, and is always slouching to hide in the crowd (though it doesn't work). She is turning out to be quite the hard worker, and her marks have improved dramatically!
Sam, Barbie, and LilySam, Barbie, and Lily
Sam, Barbie, and Lily

Sam (bottom right) is always full of mischief, and is usually talking. Barbie (beside him) is usually smacking him trying to keep him quiet. And Lily (behind Sam) is little miss over-achiever, always competing with herself. Such a cute kid!


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb