Breakfast


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Three Gorges Dam
March 19th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I spent so long on the phone with the insurance compnay this morning (never mind the hours last night) that I missed breakfast. I have an hour before the bus leaves for the airport so I am going to hunt down a bakery. I think I deserve some baked goods. I am going to follow my nose.

I cannot believe how packed some of the buses are -- but then no worse than the Bee Line in Vancouver -- especially before the school day.

I'm dodging traffic with the best of them. Crossing the street on the red light. Whoever is reading the blog to mom, Don't read that part!

OK - when in doubt I bought chips. I can't believe I did that. I also bought a cream filled pastery wrapped in celophane. Then I found a guy cooking flatbread on the street from an open oven. It was filled with green onion. It looked like a Middle eastern family's business. It's delicious. Kind of salty.

I'm such a magpie: I'm attracted to flashing lights. The cops have pulled right up onto the sidewalk. I sauntered by eating my flatbread and the trunk was open so I just had to peer in and see what Chinese cops keep in their cars. I'm not telling. Oh yeah, don't tell mom this part either.

I forgot to talk about my taxi ride to the restaurant last night. Anyone who has traveled -- people are sick and tired hearing about the modes of transport and the crazy way they drive in Egypt and India and China -- but we can't help ourselves. Whether a tuk tuk in India or a taxi in China. My guy was dodging people and other vehicles and at one point I thought oh my if he moves an inch we are going to be crushed between two buses -- like a bug between the floor and the fly swatter. But, you know, it was fine. Only a moment of, "Oh dear".


You should see how some of the lights change -- sometimes there is an amber before the green. I also saw a countdown of how long until the red light would end. Cool!

Man, even the ambulance had to Beep Beep and flash his lights to make the buses and trucks get out of the way. They move at a pretty slow pace compared to the ambulances at home.


It's time to get on the bus to head for the airport and then to the cruise starting in Yiching.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb