Rain and Bottoms


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
March 19th 2008
Published: March 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ah, yes, the baby pants with the slit up the back. I forgot what a sight this can be to North Americans. At least this child has a diaper hanging out instead of a bare butt. The father (or grandfather) is ushering the child inside and the mother (or grandmother) is washing rice at the aforementioned tap on the side of the building. I had thought she was using a pink plastic basin, but it turns out there was a metal pan inside. It was a huge quantity of rice -- either a big family or a restaurant business.

I'm not going to say don't do it, but walking in the rain on these uneven sidewalks is not easy. It's a constant battle of umbrellas -- up or down, left or right. It would make an interesting dance: I shift my body to the left, my umbrella to the right, and go over on one foot at a bit of an angle. Hey Holly, you could choreograph the Shanghai Shuffle! The moves are much more suited to a modern piece.


I had a two hour massage -- for about $12.00 -- unbelievable!! One whole hour on just my feet. The masseuse was a blind man. This is quite common in Asia as a profession for blind people. He was very good. No match for Ian Cook -- but pretty darn good for a stranger!!


I spent the rest of the day walking about (on my new feet).

Cheerio!

Cindy


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb