Weekend in Shiyan


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Shiyan
November 22nd 2010
Published: November 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

We left Friday morning at 10 am to go to Shiyan for the weekend.

Kyle and I went to our 1-2 classes, and on the way he told me that he talked to our co-teacher, Ms. Hu, about canceling his 3-4, and she said it was okay. She even asked if he wanted to go ahead and cancel 1-2. He said it was tempting, but he thought he should probably teach it. I was surprised he actually decided to teach.. and kinda impressed. I probably would have said, "Yeah, go ahead and cancel 1-2." ha.

So class went okay. It started slow, but it got better. They finally decided it was okay to talk.. or they finally understood what I was saying. I can't tell. ha. I had 2 boys come in more than 15 minutes late.. I'm pretty sure when I was in school if I was going to be that late, I just didn't show up. If I was more than a few minutes late I decided not to show up. ha. The kids were completely quiet during the break.. until about 7 minutes in. I got a whisper. It's like after the break they decide that they just don't care anymore.. they mostly sat with their heads down. I had 3 girls in the front who really listened and paid attention. Crazy.

I came home after class alone because Kyle was finished early. He said he let them out at 9:20.. that's so not normal Kyle. He's always a 'follow the rules' kind of guy. I decided when he told me that that I should follow suit. ha. I did run into him while he was talking to Dillon, and he said that he was going to get something to drink because he felt a little weird. I went home and finished up packing.

I grabbed my honey bun that I've been saving for like months and a smoovlatte as I headed out the door. I actually heated the honey bun up. It was sooo good. I even gave Kyle a piece, but I finished it before we got to the car to share it with J & P. ha.

Our driver was ridiculous. He spit constantly out the window.. and when we were going too fast for him to stick his head out, he would spit into a napkin and then throw it out the window. Sick. He also burped a lot. He was kind of a maniac on the curvy roads too.. Kyle, P and I were falling all over each other around the curves. But we made it to Shiyan in good time. Kyle got dropped off at his friend Micah's school, and J & P and I got dropped off at our school.

J & P were going to stay at a hotel, so we went there first. They got all checked in, and I took my contacts out because my left eye was KILLING me. And then we went to McDonalds. I got a big mac, fries and a drink, and then we walked to the DVD store close to there so J could buy some more videos.

Dillon wanted me to hang out with him and Kyle at 2, so I decided it was too close to then to go all the way to the automobile school and then come back, so I just went ahead to Micah's school, Shiyan University. Dillon got there, and we talked about different things.. mostly about his job and Thanksgiving. He wanted us to come to Shiyan, but it
Photo 8Photo 8Photo 8

Yeah, she likes to sit here.
would be a lot of trouble, so I told him to come to DJK. I offered to pay for his trip. I'm nice. ha. jk. Kyle got there, and we went on our way.

We went to some little park and walked around. It was cute. I liked it a lot. After the park we took a bus to Wu Yan and got some potatoes. They were so good. Like super good. They put spices on them and then cooked them in a pan over fire. Yum. We looked for jackets for Kyle (he wanted a pea coat), and then we went to McDonalds because we were going to meet Abbey there to go to the pet market. She needed food and nail clippers for her puppy.

Abbey is Abbey Gallaher. I went to Freed with her, and I had no idea she was even here til everyone was like, "Abbey says she knows you!" and I asked who she was. She decided she didn't have enough time to go to the pet market that day, so I went on to her apartment.

She left to meet a student right when I got there. I played with Lily, her puppy, and chilled. She got back a little later, and we went and got dinner. We ran into her student, Bob, on the way, and he went with us. He ordered some kind of dish that's famous in his hometown. It was a chicken dish, and it had bones in it. That's okay with me sometimes, but it had a really weird taste. We also got some pork with vegetables and sour and spicy lotus. We met his brother, Milk. ha.

Abbey and I headed to Finn's apartment at the medical school for singing. There were several people there, and I played with his dog, Sim Sim, and his neighbor Katelyn's dog, Buffalo. Cute. I asked to use his bathroom.. I regretted it immediately after walking in. He's a boy.

We all went to see Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows Part 1 at 9:40. (We all includes Abbey, Finn, Katelyn and me) Keli Tripp met us there, and we ended up at the right theater while she was at the wrong one. She came and met us, and she busted her head on some scaffolding on the way. haha. She said she felt kind of confused and thought she might have a concussion. ha. It was pretty funny, and she was okay.

We walked in a few minutes late, so we didn't see the very beginning, but I really enjoyed it. I cried a little bit. ha! I'm pretty sure I get too involved in movies.. always. It was in English and had Chinese subtitles. The Chinese people around us were so jumpy and stuff with all the action. ha. Keli and Abbey were really annoyed at the guy beside them.

After the movie, Keli was like, Brenda said she wanted to go to McDonalds. ha! So we went. One of the workers knows her by name. I don't know if that's good or bad. haha. We ate, and then we went home. Apparently taxi drivers don't understand what we're saying unless we say the name of their school a certain way. Keli can do it.. Abbey, not so much. She was saying it over and over and over even after the taxi driver started driving. I was cracking up.

We went to bed relatively soon after getting home and making my bed.

Abbey and I got up and got ready and went to the pet market. We met P at McDonalds so she could go with us. I got a kitten who apparently goes to the bathroom a lot when she's scared. I ended up having to put her in a little cage so she wouldn't go on me anymore. She meowed like CRAZY.

Abbey went ahead of us to meet the weekly gathering at McDonalds to play Settlers of Catan. P and I stayed at the vet to get my kitten checked out and get HP some shots. I bought food and P bought HP some bones. We headed to McDonalds with my crazy meowing cat.

We got there, and I cleaned myself up, and then we ate. I got a spicy chicken sandwich and fries. We found the group.. Abbey, Finn, Katelyn, Kyle and Micah were all there. P went and met J somewhere, and I stayed and hung out with the group. I'm apparently the only one who doesn't know how to play this game.

Abbey and I went to the school, and she met her students to go to People's Park. I let my kitten out of the cage and she immediately hid. She wouldn't come out.. and it didn't help that Abbey's dog was there. ha. So I decided to leave her out thinking it'd be okay while I left.

I met J & P, Kyle, Micah and Wendy (one of J's student's last year) at the movie theater to see HP again. Wendy had never seen any of them. I sat in between Kyle and her. She jumped and gasped and hid her face a lot. She even grabbed onto my arm once. ha. I think she cried too.

After the movie she got me a cab because I definitely can't say the name of the school where they understand me. It dropped me off at the gate, and I walked and found some towels and 2 bottles of water. Abbey said that the kitten had pooped all over my bed, so she put it in the bathroom and figured it needed something to sleep on. I had a super awful headache because I hadn't drank much, so I chugged that first bottle in like 2 blocks. ha.

I got back to Abbey's, and I sat in the bathroom with the kitten. I got her to sit with me, and she was good. I probably sat there for a good 30 minutes or so.. maybe longer. I went out and talked to Abbey and Keli. Keli said that my cat scares her.. and then she went home. ha. Abbey and I talked about our plans for the winter holiday. She's thinking about coming home to America, so I told her about last year.. and then we went to bed.

I got up the next morning, and the bathroom was covered in poo. Yuck. So I cleaned that up, threw the towels away and got a shower. Abbey left around 8:30 to meet her students to climb a mountain. I left a few minutes later because I needed to be to Micah's by 9:30. Finding a taxi outside of Abbey's school is not easy, but of course there was one right there. I wasn't sure where I was going once I got on campus, so I guess it was good to get there early.

Sissi, Wendy, Stella, Sunny, Jennifer, and a student we've never met were there, and we had a good time. Micah struggled with the bread. It was so hard. ha. He's definitely a boy.

After all that we, Micah, J & P, Kyle and me, went to McDonalds. The kitten decided to go to the bathroom on me and the taxi seat, so that was unpleasant. I had to clean up the best I could.. and then we ate. Micah left to go get ready to do something. We got picked up at 1.. by the same guy.

This car ride wasn't bad. The guy only spit twice, and I didn't hear him burp. He did blast the radio though. Kyle ate a McFlurry and regretted not using the bathroom before we left. haha. He also played on his iPad til he felt like he might get sick if he kept playing. The kitten was pretty content sleeping on my lap. J had HP in the front seat with him.

We got home, and the kitten immediately jumped in a box and hid. So I cleaned out the stuff in it, and I let her chill. I went to Kyle's at 4, and we did our thing with Ruth and Nahoko. Alex would have been there, but his wife was sick. Kyle makes much better bread than Micah. haha

I came home and chilled with the kitten. We laid on the couch and such. About 7:30 I went over to J & P's to get the cat stuff that Rusty and Brittany left. There was a bucket for the litter box, some balls with bells inside, a little box for her to climb in, and a scratching post. The scratching post was covered in mold though because they have a leak. ew. They also gave me brownies and bread. ha

I came home and set up the stuff for the kitten, and then I made myself a sandwich. I worked on my classes for the week, and I caught up on FB and Twitter and watched The Big Bang Theory.

I went to bed about midnight.

That's my weekend. Good times. 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb