Birthday Celebration!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Danjiangkou
June 30th 2010
Published: July 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

My Anchor GangMy Anchor GangMy Anchor Gang

Dillon, Ruth, Melissa, Wendy, Ruth, Jane, Stella... and her boyfriend (who doesn't speak English)
I got up at 7 this morning and took HP out and then went to class assuming I would have class. I got the key for the t.v. because I was going to show a movie. I went in the room, and there were a few people in there. I started to try and unlock the t.v. box, and the bell rang. I looked up and there was one person. I asked if anyone was coming. She was like, no. Oh. Ok. So I went home.

I went to Jing Hua and got some snacks, and then I came back home. There wasn't much excitement there.. just the regular old Jing Hua. I did notice that there were Sunmaid Raisins there. That was cool... the little things, the little things. Oh, I did find another good coffee drink. that was good.

I came back home and packed some and then cleaned up the apartment. I just had random stuff laying around, and it needed a pick me up. I left with Hot Pot about 11:00 to get lunch.

I just went and got something to go. I got some curry beef on rice and brought it back home. I saw Dillon on the way home, and we talked while I struggled with HP on his leash. He's a mess.

I got home, ate, and then I think I picked up some more. I went to the store and grabbed two bottles of orange juice.

The party started. 6 of my 8 classes stopped by.. not all at once. I actually think a few from another class came by, but it's all kind of a blur. I think at one point I had over 30 people in my house. It. was. crazy. I got presents, a birthday cake, pictures were taken... it was a lot of fun. I enjoyed it until one of my students decided to criticize my teaching. That kinda put a damper on things for me.. J & P came over and ate some brownies, and then they left soon after. My apartment is usually pretty cool, but where there were sooo many bodies in here, it was hot. I spent all afternoon with students. Maybe the last afternoon group left after 4. Stella, her boyfriend, Dillon, Melissa, Ruth, Wendy, Jane and Nikki stayed. They were kind of my anchor. I was about to collapse because I was tired and it had just been a long day. We took pictures, and they put icing on my face. It was a lot of fun. Hot Pot licked some of it off my face. They thought that was funny. Everyone left except Stella, her boyfriend, Dillon and Nikki.

We went to dinner, and we went to "the old place" according to Stella. We got long jia shao chao ro, some noodle beef stuff, fried green beans, sour and spicy cabbage, and some green vegetable with tofu noodles. It was good. We sat and talked for a really long time, and then they paid. It was sweet.

I came home and got rid of the cake leftovers just before another class came over. There were only 8 of them, but they brought a huge cake. They all ate a piece of it. It was really pretty... it had lavender flowers all around the edges. My student, Toby, picked it out. I liked it a lot. It did, however, have a bug on it. I saw them wipe something off, and I asked what it was. They were like, "Nothing, nothing." Okay, that's a bad sign. I saw the picture later and saw the bug on it. They wanted to take 9 million pictures, so we did that... and then they left.

I had a super fun, but exhausting day. I had the birthday song sung to me about 8 times, I bet.. except it was, "birsday". I also had to make wishes and pretend to blow out candles. They laughed at me for pretending.

I didn't go to bed for a really long time because I was talking on Skype, and then I took Hot Pot out for a walk. I came in and gave him a bath, and then took one myself.. and I talked on Skype some more. I finally got in bed around 3, maybe? Maybe 4.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

0910 girls0910 girls
0910 girls

Apparently the girl on the left wasn't ready. ha
The Bug CakeThe Bug Cake
The Bug Cake

Isn't it pretty? Other than the bug and the writing..
09100910
0910

Kiven and Toby


1st July 2010

Happy Birthday!!!
Happy Birthday Brenda!!! I'm so excited for you to come home! Are you bringing your puppy? I'll be home at the beginning of August, and we can hang out a lot because I'm unemployed!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb