Good Walk.. Good Photo Opp..


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hubei » Danjiangkou
September 3rd 2009
Published: September 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

The following are views from the roof of Building 8.
Well family, to the van, to the van, to the van van van! I'm sorry.. no one knows what I'm talking about except Jeremy and maybe a few others I have shared the stories with.. But I had to do it. Remind me to tell you about it when I see you.. if you remember.

The reason that popped in my head is because I wanted to start my blog out with, "Well, friends.."

I just got back from a walk. I walked to the roof of building 8, took some pictures, and then walked down the new road they are building. I walked by the lake and took some pictures.. then I decided to take the long way back.. I had actually never been the long way, so I was hoping I wouldn't get lost. I didn't. As you can see.. since I am writing this blog. I'm still a little sweaty, but it was a good walk. I got lots of stares, saw some babies in split pants, you know, the usual. I took my iPod with me and listened to some Meiko... mostly "You and Onions".. (I tend to be one of those people who listens to the same song(s) over and over if I like it. I finally just put it on shuffle though.

It still amazes me at how excited people get at seeing an American. It is even more exciting for them when that American says "Nihao" to them. (That would be hello.) Or even if they say "Hello" first, if you say it back they think it's super awesome. It's pretty sweet. Some of them, though, just kind of stare at you in disbelief.

On the way back I stopped at a little store. I was going to get a cold drink, but I didn't see any that were cold.. so I got an ice cream. It was kind of weird, but I liked it. It was shaped like an ice cream sandwich (visualize with me, people) and the outside was like an ice cream cone. It was two pieces, but they were angled at the edges so you couldn't see inside until you bit into it (or pulled one side back.. that's what I did. I wanted to see what was inside before I took a big bite. I didn't want it to be green pea or something). The inside consisted of vanilla ice cream and chocolate. It was pretty good.

I'm glad I just spent a really long time describing ice cream to you. ha.

Anyway... that's all I have to report as of now.. I hope you enjoy the pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

This is my favorite view.
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

This is at the lake. I found it funny.
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

This is me trying to be creative.
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

I just think this is super cool.
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Amidst the beauty of the flowers... trash.
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

Yep.. these are peanuts.
Photo 19Photo 19
Photo 19

Remember, this is on the sidewalk beside the street.


3rd September 2009

Cool
Very cool pics Blenda!
3rd September 2009

Don't get lost
You best let your friends know where you are at all times.
4th September 2009

Peppers
What kinda peppers are those? Are they hot?
4th September 2009

I know what you mean about listening to the same song over and over. I do that all the time and it drives my husband crazy! I have listened to "I can only imagine" by Mercy Me so many times that "Sissy" Kyra, knows every word! Thanks for taking the pics and sharing them with us! Keep the interesting blogs and emails coming! Love ya!

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0919s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb