The Adventure of a Lifetime


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Henan
August 19th 2008
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Some how this one slipped by me. I thought I had documented our trip to see Charles and Mary and just needed to add photos, but I find no entry. This was an amazing trip, so I can't leave it out!

Charles was one of my students in 2004. He chose the adjective of Charming and ever since has been Charming Charles. He definitely lives up to his name! His wife, Mary, joined us part way thru the class and was a delightful addition. She is a beautiful women and very gracious. We became good friends. In 2006 Charles, Mary and their daughter, Lucy came to Xinyang from their home to visit me. They treated me to a wonderful meal and a good time.

This year, 2008, I told Charles it was my turn to visit him. Little did I know of the adventure I was to embark on! He insisted on coming to Xinyang by bus to pick Megan up, and after lunch at one of our favorite street cafes we headed out on our 4 hours bus ride to his home. Charles and Mary live in Da quan dian in Shangdung County. They told me this is the poorest county in Henan Province, which must be pretty poor then, as Henan is the poorest province in China. They live at the No. 2 Middle School where Mary teaches English. Charles teaches English at a middle school 15 kilometers away. He told me that he lives there all week and then comes home on weekends. Their daughter, now 14, goes to school at the biggest city before you get to their city - about an hour from them. She comes home once a month, and since she is now in senior middle school she goes to school all year. WOW

So more to follow on this story and comments on the pictures coming soon, but for now here are the pictures. ENJOY!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb