Well the first month has flown by....


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Henan » Zhengzhou
March 30th 2010
Published: March 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well there we are our first month here has flown by and we are all finally reunited. Perry finally came home yesterday and had to have a bath as he was a little smelly. He was probably wishing he was back in Beijing after the bath.

Anyway what's to tell. This weekend passed quietly really. Saturday was spent in the market buying veggies and fruit. We also stumbled upon an Arab bakery where the bread was delicious. We also managed to buy a couple of bicycles and solve a problem at the bank so a fairly productive Saturday really. The bank was a challenge but we managed to get our point over and the guy eventually understood us. Sunday was spent relaxing at home. I've found the Chinese sport channel on the internet so I watched the Formula One.

Monday I headed off to Beijing to finally bring Perry back home. So off I went at 6 in the morning to the airport. The outward journey went smooth as clockwork. On arrival in Beijing I thought a trip to Tianamen Square could not be missed so I decided to head into the city on the airport express train and take the metro. I only did this because when we left Perry to go into quarantine the guy told me that the quarantine centre wasn't at the airport so I assumed that it was in the city. Now I only had a map of where the facility was in Chinese so I really had no idea where it was. I even tried to search for the place on the internet but it was all to no avail.

Anyway I wandered through Tianamen Square and took some photos and then thought it was best to go to this quarantine place. So I found a taxi, well a bloke with a car, 200 yuan he told me for the fare. So the price agreed with we set off. He drove around the walls of the forbidden city. It is enormous and from what buildings I could see it looked stunning so we will go back to Beijing without doubt. So the taxi took me back to a stones throw of the airport. If I had known I would of taken the train back and saved myself some money. Anyway after some running around I was finally reunited with a smelly and very irate cat.

The flight home was 2 hours late and sat behind me was a women who was trying to bring up the flem of ten men by the sounds of it.

We are really enjoying ourselves here. The city is great fun and the people are so friendly but please enough with the spitting!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



31st March 2010

Hey uys! well glad you are having a good time, and i am very glad the cat is ok. miss you both, keep the pictures coming, i love them! x

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb