Still on Sunday the 29th of July!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Henan » Xinyang
July 31st 2012
Published: July 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Still on Sunday the 29th. There will be pictures with this one at some point to - when I am able.

Sometime around 6pm. Time for noodles from our favorite mom and pop noodle shop!

I head out of the Sunny Hotel and head back towards "my street." I decide to walk as it isn't that far and I have to have that shirt fixed on the way anyway (I saw many seamstresses with there sewing machines that are probably 100 years old on my my earlier walk from church). I cross the street and as I make my way to dinner I see a seamstress in an ally and make my way to her. There is a toddle there and as I look down I gasp. The child has a large syringe with a LARGE needle attached to boot. The mother or grandmother looks down and sees it and takes it away as if it is no big deal. She just sets the thing up on her sewing machine!

She removes the button I show her and attaches it where I indicatd. All fixed for 1 yuan and I am on my way to dinner. My stomach is growling now. I am hungry! As I grow closs to the crazy corner I hear a voice speaking to me I think - the English hello - wait its a voice I know????!!!! YES ITS ANNA! Anna from 8 years ago and also visits after that. Ping pong playing Anna who seems to know everyone and knows a little English to boot. Another strange coincidence. I have the card she gave me 8 years ago in my purse. I was going to try to call her while I was eating dinner.

We talk a while. She is sooooo excited to see me! But then Anna often seems more excited then not! We will meet at 6am for ping pong with Mr. Wong tomorrow like old times! She walks me to our noodle shop (I say our because this is the place Megan and I ate at almost ever night 4 years ago when we were here teaching together). Anna's English is still rough but better than I remember. I ask her to tell the man (the same one from 4 years ago) that my daughter and I ate here often 4 years ago. He remembers! Yes he tells her - shoe took lots of picturs. Then Anna heads off with the promise of ping pong tomorrow and I go to our little 7-11 in Xinyang to get peejoe (beer) and lung schway (cold water). They would always keep some bottles of water n the freezer with the ice cream. I am not disappointed - there is the mostly frozen water! So beverages in hand I head back to make my order and stake our the street side table.

He gives me a DELICIOUS cold piece of watermelon as I order my noodles. He of course asks me (well by pointing - remember I don't speak Chinese) if I want the hot peppers - but of course! They have another cook - their daughter maybe? Maybe but she looks too old and them too young.

The noodles are delicious of course! How I miss Megan right now! We would always order rice and noodles and then share! The beer I got tonight is better than the one early - I got another can for Ian. I hope the small cans of beer will make it home to him. I ate every bit of noodles ! I hope for another piece of watermelon, but they are out, so I head back to 7-11 for another frozen bottle of water and an ice cream. Tomorrow I need to have Charles help me fnd some good Jingoshan beer. I have yet to see any. I will be sad if it is no more. I wonder if they have it in cans so I can add that to my collection for Ian.

Now back to the hotel to soak in a real tub! Ahhhh a tub - just ignore the browness of the water and soak in the warmth as the bubbles surround me.

What a great day . . . . Its nice to be back Xinyang.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb