Memories . . .


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Henan » Xinyang
July 29th 2012
Published: July 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

HELLO XINYANG! And here are hugs from Lois!

So many memories - as I come up out of the bus terminal the city greets. Loud and wide awake at 6am - greets me with a blast of hot air! Ahhhh xinyang . . . . I will forever love this city! Its like going back to your old hometown. You know its changed but there are so many memories and as you walk down the street you see so many things that haven't changed!!!!

I arrived i Xinyang this morning about 6am. I have gotten a hotel room, been to church and gone shopping already this morning! All by myself too - no one to help me and you know I don't speak Chinese!

Meg and Lois I miss you being here with me! Church was much shorter than I remember in the past. But the bell that sounds like an alarm clock still goes off to start service and the homemade fans are still in a pile to grab as you go in! And as you leave so many smiles and greatings. Lois and Paula the crazy corner is still here and still crazy but maybe a bitter better now as there are boundaries up between the two sides of the street here now too - no more driving on whatever side you want - well unless you are a motor scooter!

I had REAL egg in the hole for breakfast after church Megs! Not the fake vendor stuff they now have in Beijing. I went to one of the ones we used to go to - I had to wait a half hour they couple was so busy! IT WAS DELICIOUS. Lois and Jim - I walked down the street to the old college and I am not sure our noodle lady is still there. : > ( I can't remember if she was open on Sundays - there were some closed garage door, so I am hoping to find her there tomorrow! And Megs - DINNER TONIGHT AT THE MOM AND POP NOODLE AND RICE SHOP. Wish you were eating with me. It is the same lady. I recognized her setting up shop this morning! Tomorrow Charles is coming to see me. We will see if the noodle lady is still there. Tuesday or Wednesday I will go out with Wan Lei. Yarna is down south taking care of her NEW granddaughter so I will go out with her friend Lily one day. Meg - we met her one day when we were staying at Yarna's apartment. Oh and Lois the 7-11 next to the college is still there - a bit cleaner and a young woman waited on me. The couple with the window shop is still there by the college, but it looks like Mr. Kodak is gone.

I love Xinyang, but it is because I have many good memories here and friends! I have taught here 3 different years. It is hot here too, but a really nice wind blowing. I am so excited to be here I don't really notice the heat. Xinyang is much smaller than Nanchange and more of a country town. I have been down my favorite street and many of the same places are still there. Today I rest and the rest of the week I visit friends. I leave Thursday morning to go to Beijing. I will go shopping with Sweet while there.

Watch for more updates as I am able! My computer has completely crashed. Probably no more pictures until I get home - or maybe in Beijing.

One of the Bible passages today at church: Psalm 46

God is our refuge and strength - an ever-present help in trouble! The Lord God Almighty is wth us; the God of Jacob our Fortress.

Blessings to all - God be with you,

Linda

Advertisement



29th July 2012

Xinyang
Oh how I miss our noodle shop. That was our fiest big venture into eating on the street. The taste of those noodles always tops the list of favorite foods.
30th July 2012

Noodle Shop
I went at 6am to play ping pong with Anna. Still no sign of our noodle shop but many doors were closed so early. There was a new noodle shop open in the same strip though. Charles and I will go there today for lunch and find out for sure if it is open or closed. I will be sad if is closed though. Linda
29th July 2012

Xinyang
We sure enjoyed our time in Xinyang too. Sounds like you are having a great trip. And getting around by yourself--very adventurous and brave. How do you communicate?? I couldn't read or speak when I was there and completely dependent on our translator. Blessings...
30th July 2012

Getting around
Jim, It isn't always easy. I speak VERY little Chinese and read none. There are many Chinese that do speak some English and I have a cheat sheet to help me. Plus I have friends in Xinyang so they can save me if I really need it! This is truly a great adventure though. Linda

Tot: 0.426s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0769s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb