Do NOT Try This At Home


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
September 9th 2012
Published: September 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Remember those dumplings (jiaozi) that I was oh-so proud of being able to order cooked and uncooked the other day? (The storefront did say "Best Dumplings," by the way, just in case you were crediting me with reading Chinese signs.) Gotta say, I loved the cooked ones: pork and celery on the inside of perfectly al dente little dough pockets. The uncooked ones? Alas, a story of tragic loss. They were piled in an appetizing flour-dusted mound in my take-away box. Could I extricate a single one? Not singly. No, they all ripped apart at their seams in the face of my fork. I ended up forming gobs of the doughy mashup into snowballs and dumping them into boiling water, to the top of which floated most of their contents. Dinner was primarily overcooked dough in pork and celery broth. And yet, no one looked at me funny when I ordered them uncooked...

Advertisement



9th September 2012

Not sure if Top Chef would approve!
Dear Cyndi, So I guess the moral of the story is there is false advertising all around the world, huh? At least you tried them! You never know though, maybe those are the best UNCOOKED dumplings around. :)
21st September 2012

Fabulous!
Cyndi, I am so enjoying reading about your adventures. No one can quite capture your cultural experience with your humor and sarcasm! I love it!!!! YOu seem to be doing splendidly, as I expected! Keep the Blogs coming! xoxo

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb