Last weekend in Hangzhou


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
June 19th 2011
Published: June 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday June 18th..
Woke up on Saturday am, the sun was actually out and I was waiting for my friend Erich to wake up and go shopping.... I deicded to go explore around West Lake. It was hot, hot, hot out!!!!
Right beside my hotel, they were having a Jeep promo showing the new Jeep model- which was pretty cool.. I then walked about 2 miles around the lake and saw some beautiful flowers, and the locals enjoying the Lake.
I then headed back and hit Starbucks for my coffee fix... Coming out of Starbucks there was a cool Camero on display so I had to take a few pics for my nephews back home...

I met up with Erich around 2 and we started shopping which is when the rain decided to start. At first, it wasn't too bad - it was just sprinkling out. As we made our way through the local markets and stops it started raining a little bit harder but nothing bad. Just as we walked out of our last store with our purchases in hands, it started pouring- the kind of rain that within seconds their were huge puddles in the road. We bought cheap umbrellas to try and make it back to the hotel without beind drenched- let's say the umbrellas were not much help. We decided to relax at the Hyatt lobbey and have a few margaritas 😊 We were soaking wet and unfortunately my iphone got wet too and is now complete junk until I get back to the States...
We ventured out later for dinner and the rain down pour followed us... we made it to the italian restaurant Due Fiori were I then decided to drop my blackberry in a puddle by mistake- I was like Oh no, now I will have no phone but never fear, thos BB are tough- it is back in working order...

Where else can I have a blast with a great co- worker and just laugh because we were caught in the rain and soaking wet.

Sunday June 19th- Happy Father's Day. I wish I could be home to wish my dad a great day- he is the best dad in the world. Erich and I met up with Peter and his wife Suzette and their beautiful 5 month old daughter- she is so adorable. We had brunch at the Intercontinetal
HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 041HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 041HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 041

Intercontinetal Hotel - wedding taking place
Hotel which is a really cool place- it is located in South Central Hanghzhou which is more business buildings and construction but it was cool to be a little bit out of the way of the craziness of Hangzhou.
After a delicious brunch, we headed to the mix c mall- it was a slice of home away from home. Has most of the stores you see at home and it has an international food market, Ole which we could have spent hours in- it has american and european brands- we had to drag Erich out of there 😊
After spending hours in the mall, we found our way back to our part of the hood in Hangzhou...


Additional photos below
Photos: 81, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 043HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 043
HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 043

the outside view of the intercontinetal hotel
HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 041HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 041
HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 041

Intercontinetal Hotel - wedding taking place
HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 003HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 003
HZ weekend June 18 and 19 2011 003

locals out on the west lake- boating


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb