Ktv, rice and noodles!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Hangzhou
March 9th 2010
Published: March 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hellooo!!

It was my birthday yesterday and I had a lovely day. Vicki (the girl i've moved in with) woke me up with a birthday brekkie of scrambled eggs on toast. It was delicious even on the sweet bread you get here! We then went to do a food shop and ended up in the bakery eating lots of cake and drinking tea which was lovely. I had to teach yesterday evening but for some reason my usually demon class were really well behaved so it was a really fun lesson. Yeserday evening some of us from school went to a western place for a dinner of club sandwiches and wine, we then went to a local bar which turned out to be a random clubs with strange western music (nothing that would ever be played at home!), clowns on stage, a conga line and a random singer. Once we couldn’t take the dodgy music anymore we decided to head downstairs to a KTV bar. KTVs are everywhere here, you rent out the karaoke booths for about £4 an hour and then pick your songs from a massive selection of retro western music - its a lot of fun!

Today one of the Japanese teachers at the school took us to the big clothes/shoes market here. It has 4 floors of clothes/shoes and accessories and you spend most of your time bargaining, walking away and being shouted at in Chinese. The fashion here is so different to home, all sequins, lace and weird chinglish slogans. Having said that I did manage to find some gorgeous shoes and 2 lovely dresses so it was pretty successful!

My new place is lovely. Its fairly near school, on a nice road with lots of little shops and eating places. Shops seem to close and re-open as something else within a matter of days here so if you see something you buy it. Vicki is also English and very similar to me. We’ve just joined the gym by school and are planning all our yoga/jazz classes which will be fun! She also took me to learn Kung-fu which is much harder than it looks! There’s a big stadium in the city and the guards live in an underpass by the stadium, also the place where we learn kung-fu which is a little odd. The people that teach us are lovely, the first time I went we invited them back here for stew and they ended up coming over again 2 days later to cook us a massive feast. They cooked fresh fish, soup, noodles and one of them bought us lots of Korean food and slippers. All the floors are wooden here and apparently its rude not to offer your guests slippers, so we are now fully prepared for any future visits!

School is going well now. I’m getting used to the classes and the demon children (there are a few!). This week will be my first week in which I go to a public school to teach which should be really interesting. The classes are only 40 minutes long and apparently between each class they all do their exercises in the playground according to the instructions on the loud speaker system and then they do these eye exercises to stop the tiredness. I’m looking forward to going even though I have to teach 60 kids a class all sorts of complicated grammar when half of them cant spell their own names, it will be interesting! O an eating with chopsticks is actually easier than eating with a knife and fork. Tonight I made us meatballs and pasta just with chopsticks! Impressive I thought!

Right that’s all from me, we have lots of mini-trips planned to the mountains/different cities in the next few weeks so I’ll update again soon.

Lots of love xxx



Advertisement



10th March 2010

Thank you!
In my tired state I forgot to say thank you for all my birthday messages! For those of you who left me messages on facebook, i'm sorry I cant reply to them but I did read them so thanks!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb