Day 2 - Thursday 5/Nov/2015 - Guangzhou to Xijiang journey


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guizhou
November 5th 2015
Published: November 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post


"Fish every year", not clear to me what is meant with this publicity.
A long journey, full of surprises.
Unfortunately, the seats in the bullet trains from Guangzhou to Guiyang were all booked. I should have booked earlier, a lesson learned. Few places for the 12:00 train, without seat, were still available. So I had to wait for 2.5 hours, and had to stand in the train for nearly half the time of the 5h30 journey. Next, the bus between Guiyang North station and Guiyang Central station took nearly one hour instead of the announced 20 minutes. Finally I had to take the 21:00 train to Kaili, arriving there at 23:30.
Surprise, when showing the hotel address to the taxi drivers. Discussing thanks to Google translate tool on my tablet (fortunately with the language kits Chinese, English, Dutch and French downloaded from home, as none of the Google stuff can be accessed in China!). They pretended my hotel was about 30km distant, and asked for 200Y. Sharing the cab with another person it dropped 100Y each (1 Yuan is about 0.15 Euro).
As it meanwhile became midnight, I felt there was no other option than trusting them.
A next surprise was when the taxi dropped me at a toll gate where he had to

Guangzhou metro station.
pay 120Y. He told me through his tablet to continue on the dark road for one more kilometer, where I should find a village.
Arriving in the unknown village, 2:00 in the morning, with everything closed, I finally crossed some drunk teenagers, and they brought me to an hotel, not mine, but at least I got a room and a bed...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Guangzhou South Railway station, ticketing office.


Guangzhou South Railway station, waiting room.


The Chinese bullet train "CRH".


Highest speed reached during the 5h30 journey with the bullet train: 244 km/h.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb