Sitting Down, Tea in Hand


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi
January 11th 2010
Published: January 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I enjoy writing. I like putting words together on a page...or a screen and letting my thoughts and ideas pour out of me like the rain water here in Guilin.

When I was young, I thought that I could write a book, and get it published. I had a title, and 17 typed pages on my IBM-POS laptop from the Dark Ages that I had set up on my desk in my bedroom. I wrote mostly about crushes and boys and how I felt like a Teenage Superwoman, putting up with all the drama of High School. In reality, my drama was no more or less than anyone else...I think it just felt like it. Seventeen pages. That's pretty good for a fourteen year-old. I have had term papers in college that didn't need to be that long. Thankfully the laptop died before anyone else got a chance to read it. The memories of that story only remain in my head.

There's a light on in one of the apartments across from mine in our little villiage here on campus. Save for that single, solitary light, all is dark. There is a very faint glow from the light outside the office, but no one is there, the office is locked. It's very quiet for 10 o'clock pm. The Vietnamese in the apartment next to mine always seem to be having a party. It very well may be that there are four to six people living in that apartment. We don't speak enough of any common language to meet and discuss living situations in that much detail. It might be because it's Monday night during the week of finals.Perhaps they are sleeping...or studying. In any case, they are mute - leaving me to sip my tea and ponder life's mysteries as Meimei dozes on my bed.

I watched "Julie and Julia" yesterday, which left me wishing that I could come up with a blog topic as interesting as cooking your way through an entire French cook book. I want to buy that cook book. The real question I was left with at the end of the movie was "will I ever be able to bone a duck?" I almost bought half a chicken today. I wanted to make a stirfry with chicken in it...but the butcher section that deals with pultry at my trusty D.Market doesn't cut the meat from the bone. If I ever want to make a chicken stirfry here, I am going to man-up and cut the meat from a freshly slaughtered chicken.

My weird food count is up in the last few weeks:
Octopus tenticles on a stick - I will miss this when I am back in the States
Duck tongue - looks strange, but tastes good. The Chinese beleive that it will make your voice strong, so I had to try one, or 6.
Chicken heads
Chicken feet
Thinly sliced goat liver...that I won't miss

It's starting to rain again. I can hear the raindrops rolling off the leaves outside my window. My Walgreens alarmclock has a very audible <>. I would much rather fall asleep to the sound of rain than to the ticking of my little Walgreens alarm clock, but right now, I don't think that's an option. My life's routine as of late is delegated by the position of those hands against the numbers and lines that mark the face of my trusted time keeper.

Advertisement



12th January 2010

creative.
hey, clare b. dang... I can't wait to show this to emma. I can see her doing something similar to what you are doing, and certainly can see her doing the creatifve writing like you. thanks for the blogs.. I love reading them in the late and sometimes wee hours..... I am so happy you are able to have this opportunity, as I am sure you are as well. Just spoke with your folks... they are lining up lynn to care for your cats, your folks home..... getting closer, and i know you are soooooo looking forward to seeing them THERE with you.... cooooooooool. might try to skype you now I am soooo excited for all of you. love aunt annie
8th March 2010

hiiiiii
hey clare!!! i just realized you have a blog! i'm glad to hear that you're enjoying your time in China and am soooo jealous that you got to experience more than i..haha. i'm especially surprise that you like food such as octupus and tongues! have you tried pig ears??? you have to email me! miss you!!!!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb