More villages to explore


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi
February 3rd 2006
Published: February 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi,

My next stop after Yangshu was the rice teraces in Longshi, about 2 hours north to Guilin. After the mingling failure at Yangshou (see last story), I was eager to try again to mingle.
So I was so happy when on the bus to Logshi one of the those ladies with a towel on her head (belongs to the Zhuang minority people), offered me to sleep at her place. This conversation could have taked place thanks to the help of a Chinese guy who could speak English as well. I was dreaming about me sleeping with her, her husband, the pig and the goat in the same room.
When we got off from the bus, we had to climb to Pingian village by via a flagstone steps about 10 minutes. My future host, about 60 years old, carried one of my bags and was climbing the steep trail like a mountain goat. To my disappointment, she brought me to an hotel with some other rooms and other guests.
Pingian village is beutiful, all wood. It is located in the monutains between the rice teraces. In this area, there is only one season of rice since it is cold. In south Vietnam, for example, there are 3 or 4 rice seasons, since it is hoter. When I have been there, it was off season, all the teraces were brown.
So Pingian village is habited by Zhaung people. The women dress with a towel on their heads. The women with the hair that reaces the ground, who belong to the Yao people, who live in near by villages wandering there as well. They hassle the tourists a lot so they would buy their handicrafts. They charge about 0.5$ in order to take photo with their long hair spread to the ground.
One day I hiked to Dazhai village. In the middle of the track we were invited for lunch which was quite good. We had potatos as well. Not only rice. This was a change.
My next stop was Changyang wind and rain bridge, more north. It is a beutiful bridge, in the area there are villages populated with the Dong people.

Bye, Sharon



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb