Fed-up of trains!!!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
January 28th 2006
Published: January 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well since leaving Xian I've spent most of my time on trains or being sick, nice hey!
Well left Xian to get the train to Shanghi, sadly it was delayed, for 10hrs, then we had a nice 16hr train journey after that, oh what fun. It was ok at 1st, but train stations are not the most comfortable places, especially at 4am and after waiting over 10hrs. I asked our group leader if the trains were normally late, she said "No," this was the 1st time she'd ever had to wait, made-up for it by being so long though.
Eventually the train arrived and we slept for a good bit of the way, but by the end of it I was starting to get cabin fever from being stuck inside, I was very happy to see Shanghi, although we'd lost a day there because of the delay.
Shanghi was a really cool city, people are far more relaxed there, probably the European influence, it wasn't as hectic as Beijing or Xian and a lot less spitting. The Chinese have a better out the in attitude and when they want to get it out, they get it all out, not pleasent. Hopefully this isn't a custom I'll become used too, much like the squat toilets. Having to use one of them on a train doesn't look good, luckily I've avoided it, apart from a wee. Ian you wouldn't be able to have your normal 1/2hr with a book in one of those.
Anyway enough of the minging Chinese, Shanghi. An awesome city. It looked so cool with the skyscrapers, European influenced buildings and traditional Chinese buildings. It's definately somewhere I'd like to come back too. Although it was expensive, drinks were more expensive then back home and I had quite a few (this led to the being sick I mentioned before).
In the day I ventured around the city with a couple of the girls from the group (always the ladies man ;-) (lol) It was cool, we saw the Pagodu temple and Jade Buddhu. The Jade Buddhu was really amazing and as people actually worshipped and there and there were momks there, you got a really good feel for the place. We also had a tea ceromony with special tea grown by the monks. I ended up getting some nice herbal tea to help me relax and get to sleep, not that I usually need help to do those.
I also did a bit of shopping as there is a huge shopping area. Got my self some trainers from some dodgy back alley shop. I thought I was going to be mugged as this guy took me off to the dodgy shop, but all was good. The trainers only cost about 12 quid too. I also got a watch for a couple of quid, but this broke before I got to the hotel. That's what I got for buying cheap crap.
As I said before, in the eve me aqnd a couple of others went for drinks. We were supposed to meet the rest of the group for food at a Mexican, but they been to see some acrobats, had a meal after that so most bailed. This led me to not eating and getting hammered. This in turn led me to do some most awesome projectile vomiting, a good 4 or 5 ft, they guy in Macd's wasn't very happy when he got splash back. (Hmmmmmm making myself sound so attractive)
This occurred the next day and sadly we were leaving the hotel to get a train to where I am now, a 27hr train journey, not good the way I felt. Luckily by the time I got on the train I was better and slept a lot of the way so the journey didn't seem too bad.
Ended up in Longshuo about 10.30pm last night. Slightly out of sink after all that time on a train, so went some some food and some drinks. This led to me and 3 others rolling in at 7.20am. Good skillage. I didn't manage any drinking injuries, but we did mange to maim one of the girls with us. :-) We also managed to get lost on the way home. It was dark when we went out, but light when we came back, suddenly there were loads of limestone hills everywhere (which look awesome) but these managed to confuse us, nothing to do with the alcohol I'm sure. In the end some random Chinese lady showed us back to the hotel and I got up a 3.30pm, no vomiting (thank God, I don't want to feel like that for a long time) had some food and chilled.
The place is pretty cool, although I do slightly feel I'm in Spain or Greece as it's pretty geared up to travellers and there's a big strip of bars, but as I said some amazing views and I should fully appreciate them when we go on a bike ride in a couple of days.
Anyway, it's Chinese new year, so I'm going to get off now, we're off for some food and partying again (although I'll try to avoid a 7am return tonight). Hope your all cool and well, get in Rio you dancer and role on the league cup final (lets all laugh at Arsenal). Will, I've not managed to kill and eat something, but been told they butcher animals at the market here, so maybe I'll have done by the time I'm next on.

Advertisement



28th January 2006

Cow
Found a magic cow yet?
28th January 2006

So not jealous
Man I don't envy you on those trains!
29th January 2006

No, not managed to find a magic cow, think it may be more likely in Vietnam or Cambodia. I have cultivated a beard though.
31st January 2006

Bristolians!
I am never complaining about going to Bristol on the train ever again (well maybe only once or twice more)!
1st February 2006

Beards
Have you accesorised it with curly hair, beads and sandles?
3rd February 2006

PSP
Dont forget to get me a PSP
4th February 2006

No sandals, but hair is getting a bit curly.
4th February 2006

No sansals, but hair is curlyish.
5th February 2006

Curls
I bet u've got a full on Afro. U'll have hair to ur knees by the time u get home.
5th February 2006

I reckon I may get it cut before then.
6th February 2006

Hairy Spade
Nah let it grow - hair, beard, chest - it'll all merge into one and you'll look like a Yeti ;o) x

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0258s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb