Lijiang - Tiger Leaping Gorge - Guilin


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Guilin
April 29th 2010
Published: May 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My bus to Lijiang took 4 hours, half way through the driver put on a martial arts film, I had no idea what was going on but the fight choreography was good so between watching the countryside pass by and fight scenes the trip passed quickly. Back in Lijiang tried to organise a flight to Guilin as the train, bus services and accommodation would be swarming due to the 3 day May national holiday, it was also going to cost a hell of a lot more than usual. I booked a sleeper bus from Lijiang to Kunming but the flight from Kunming to Guilin proved much harder. during the hour it took me to organise the bus the flights went up in price, when I decided to bite the bullet and cough up the extra dosh the 24 hour mark until the flight passed and they became even more expensive but another thorn in my side is that after the 24 hour mark passes foreign credit cards are no longer accepted. In a state of panic I turned to mamma, after all I’d paid for a bus, couldn’t cancel that or find accommodation elsewhere and id booked a room in Guilin. I had started to organise transport days prior but I didn’t finalise them because if the gorge took longer than expected or a bus was late the whole thing would collapse like a card house. Within half an hour Mamma had the ticket delivered to the hostel at the same cost that I would have paid on the internet. I got on the sleeper bus 10minutes before other passengers, this was a mistake, we were 40 minutes late leaving, thankfully I wasn’t the only westerner on the bus, i got talking to 2 Italian girls also heading for the internet so we spent as much time as possible together until their flight left.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb